Aurascan

Comparisons · October 26, 2026 · 8 min read

Which Has More Protein, David or Barebells? 28g vs 20g

David Cookie Dough lists 28g protein in 150 calories; Barebells Chocolate Dough lists 20g in 200. Both use maltitol. Sugar alcohols, sodium, %DV compared.

By Chris Carrillo · Reviewed by Armin Rad, Co-Founder & CTO, Aurascan · October 26, 2026

Every article is checked against primary sources before publication. How we review

Illustration of two soda cans side by side on a table, one lighter and one darker

David has more protein: the David Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough bar lists 28 g of protein (56% DV) in a 62 g bar, while the Barebells Chocolate Dough bar lists 20 g (35% DV) in a 55 g serving. The two labels are nearly identical on sodium and added sugars but differ on calories, total fat, fiber, and fat system.

Key takeaways

  • David lists 150 calories, 28 g protein (56% DV), and 7 g sugar alcohol per 62 g bar. Barebells lists 200 calories, 20 g protein (35% DV), and 6 g sugar alcohol per 55 g serving. The serving weights differ (62 g vs 55 g), so these figures are not directly comparable per gram.
  • Sodium is 160 mg (7% DV) for David and 150 mg (7% DV) for Barebells. Both list 0 g added sugars.
  • David's fat system includes modified plant fat (EPG) and coconut oil. Barebells uses sunflower oil and cocoa butter, with 7 g total fat (9% DV) per serving versus David's 2 g (3% DV).
  • Both bars use maltitol. The Barebells page states that excessive consumption may have a laxative effect. Whether the David page carries a similar statement is not disclosed.
  • Protein %DV is based on PDCAAS-adjusted protein against a 50 g Daily Value under 21 CFR 101.9, so check the package panel for final figures.

How do the David and Barebells Chocolate Dough bars compare at a glance?

David lists 28 g protein in 150 calories per 62 g bar; Barebells lists 20 g protein in 200 calories per 55 g serving. Both list 0 g added sugars, and sodium is nearly identical at 160 mg vs 150 mg. The table lists the figures as printed on each product page, without converting them to a common weight.

Label itemDavid Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough (62 g bar)Barebells Chocolate Dough (55 g serving)
Calories150200
Total fat2 g (3% DV)7 g (9% DV)
Saturated fat1.5 g (8% DV)3.5 g (18% DV)
Trans fat0 g0 g
Cholesterol10 mg (3% DV)10 mg (3% DV)
Sodium160 mg (7% DV)150 mg (7% DV)
Total carbohydrate12 g (4% DV)20 g (7% DV)
Dietary fiber2 g (7% DV)3 g (11% DV)
Total sugars0 g1 g
Added sugars0 g (0% DV)0 g (0% DV)
Sugar alcohol7 g6 g
Protein28 g (56% DV)20 g (35% DV)
Calcium150 mg (10% DV)150 mg (10% DV)
Iron0.5 mg (2% DV)1.9 mg (10% DV)
Potassium120 mg (2% DV)170 mg (4% DV)

The David figures come from its product page, where the nutrition panel appears as an image, so confirm them on the package before relying on them. The Barebells figures come from its US shop page.

How much protein is in each bar, and what do the %DV figures mean?

The David bar has more protein, at 28 g per 62 g bar, compared with 20 g per 55 g serving for Barebells. The FDA Daily Value for protein is 50 g for adults and children 4 and older, as described in the FDA Daily Value guidance.

Protein %DV is not a simple grams-divided-by-50 figure. Under 21 CFR 101.9, the %DV reflects FDA's corrected protein, meaning PDCAAS-adjusted protein, and it is required when a protein claim is made. The protein quality values for either bar were not disclosed, so the %DV cannot be traced to a specific score here.

The David product page also says 75% of calories come from protein. That statement appears on the page, while the nutrition panel it refers to is an image. Compare the statement with the printed panel before using it.

How many calories and how much fat are in David vs Barebells?

The David bar lists 150 calories and 2 g of total fat (3% DV) per 62 g bar. The Barebells bar lists 200 calories and 7 g of total fat (9% DV) per 55 g serving.

Saturated fat follows the same pattern. David lists 1.5 g (8% DV) and Barebells lists 3.5 g (18% DV), measured against the FDA Daily Value of 20 g. Both list 10 mg of cholesterol (3% DV) and 0 g trans fat.

Carbohydrate and fiber also differ. David lists 12 g total carbohydrate (4% DV) and 2 g fiber (7% DV), while Barebells lists 20 g carbohydrate (7% DV) and 3 g fiber (11% DV). Because the serving weights differ, these figures describe different portions, so compare them with the serving size in mind.

How much sugar alcohol is in each bar, and what does the label warn about?

The David bar lists 7 g of sugar alcohol per 62 g bar, and maltitol is listed in the binding system. The Barebells bar lists 6 g per 55 g serving, and its ingredient statement also includes maltitol.

Under 21 CFR 101.9, sugar alcohol content is voluntary on the label, but it must be declared when a claim is made about sugars and sugar alcohols are present. Both labels state their sugar alcohol grams and show 0 g added sugars. The David page does not show the split between maltitol and allulose, so the amount of each is not disclosed.

The Barebells product page states that excessive consumption may have a laxative effect due to maltitol. Whether the David page carries a similar statement is not disclosed.

People who notice digestive effects from sugar alcohols may find that the amount per serving matters more than the total printed on the front of the package. Individual tolerance varies, and this article does not set a safe limit.

What is EPG in David protein bars?

EPG is the "modified plant fat (EPG)" in David's ingredient statement, part of a fat system with coconut oil that totals 2 g of fat per bar, versus 7 g in Barebells.

The Barebells fat system is sunflower oil and cocoa butter, and its ingredient list also includes dry whole milk. The two systems differ in source and in total amount, with Barebells listing 7 g total fat per serving compared with David's 2 g.

The chemical structure of EPG in this bar, its safety profile, and the amount used per bar were not disclosed.

How much sodium is in each bar compared with the FDA Daily Value?

The David bar lists 160 mg of sodium (7% DV) per 62 g bar, and the Barebells bar lists 150 mg (7% DV) per 55 g serving. The FDA Daily Value for sodium is 2300 mg.

The two percentages match when rounded, so sodium does not meaningfully separate these two labels. Someone tracking sodium across a day would still need to add up every food, since the Daily Value is a reference point for the general population rather than a personal limit. Individual sodium needs vary, and this article does not set a target.

Which sweeteners and protein sources appear in each ingredient list?

David lists 2 high-intensity sweeteners, sucralose and acesulfame potassium, while Barebells lists 1, sucralose. Their protein sources differ: David lists milk protein isolate, collagen, whey protein concentrate, and egg white, while Barebells lists a milk protein blend, bovine collagen hydrolysate, and soy protein isolate.

FDA states that sucralose is about 600 times sweeter than sugar and acesulfame potassium about 200 times sweeter, and both are approved food sweeteners, according to the FDA page on aspartame and other sweeteners in food. David also lists allulose in its binding system, and the amount of allulose was not disclosed.

Allergen wording differs. David's product page is not consistent about soy: its ingredient text and its nutrition panel image word the soy statement differently, so this comparison does not state which is correct. Soy lecithin does appear in David's ingredient list. Barebells lists Contains: Milk, Soybeans. If allergies apply, read the allergen statement on the wrapper in hand.

For a single-product look at the Barebells bar, see Is the Barebells Chocolate Dough Bar Clean? Scanned.

Which label facts were not disclosed, and how can shoppers verify them?

3 things were not disclosed: the protein quality scores, the EPG safety profile, and the maltitol and allulose split in the David bar. Shoppers can verify the remaining figures on the package.

  • Read the Nutrition Facts panel on the physical bar, since the David panel on its web page is an image.
  • Compare serving sizes: 62 g for David and 55 g for Barebells.
  • Match the allergen statement to the ingredient line before making any allergy decision.
  • Look for any sugar alcohol line and laxative statement on the package.
  • Review FDA's guide to using the Nutrition Facts label.

For a related comparison, see Barebells vs KIND: Which Protein Bar Has the Cleaner Label?.

This comparison cannot establish how either bar affects any individual, and the label facts do not show outcomes for children, pregnant people, or people with specific medical conditions.

Try Aurascan

See what is really in the food you buy.

Common questions

Is David protein bar better than Barebells?
The label facts do not establish one bar as better overall. David lists 28 g protein (56% DV), 150 calories, and 2 g total fat per 62 g bar, while Barebells lists 20 g protein (35% DV), 200 calories, and 7 g total fat per 55 g serving.
Does David protein bar have sugar alcohol?
Yes, the David bar lists 7 g of sugar alcohol per 62 g bar, and maltitol is listed in the binding system. The split between maltitol and allulose is not disclosed.
What is EPG in David bars?
EPG is listed in the David ingredient statement as modified plant fat (EPG), part of its fat system with coconut oil. Its chemical structure, safety profile and amount per bar are not disclosed on the product page.
Are Barebells healthy?
The label alone cannot answer that question. Per 55 g serving, the Barebells bar lists 200 calories, 7 g total fat, 6 g sugar alcohol, and 20 g protein, and overall health depends on the rest of a person's diet and needs.
How much protein is in David Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough bar?
The David bar lists 28 g of protein (56% DV) per 62 g bar. The %DV is based on PDCAAS-adjusted protein against a 50 g Daily Value.
Does Barebells Chocolate Dough have a laxative warning?
The [Barebells product page](https://shop.barebells.com/products/barebells-chocolate-dough-protein-bar) states that excessive consumption may have a laxative effect due to maltitol. Whether the David page carries a similar statement is not disclosed.

Sources

  1. David Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough high protein bar (davidprotein.com)
  2. Barebells Chocolate Dough Protein Bar (shop.barebells.com)
  3. 21 CFR 101.9 Nutrition labeling of food (ecfr.gov)
  4. Daily Value on the Nutrition and Supplement Facts Labels (fda.gov)
  5. Aspartame and Other Sweeteners in Food (fda.gov)
  6. How to Understand and Use the Nutrition Facts Label (fda.gov)

In this series

Related guides

Try it on your own groceries

Scan your next label with Aurascan

Point the camera at any ingredient list and get the same evidence-graded read you see here.

Open the scanner

Get food recall alerts + a weekly digest

An email when a food recall is announced, plus one weekly roundup of label news and new guides.

We email a confirmation link first - nothing is sent until you click it. Unsubscribe anytime. Privacy