Comparisons · October 30, 2026 · 8 min read
Magic Spoon vs Catalina Crunch: 12 g vs 11 g Protein
Magic Spoon Cinnamon Crunch: 12 g milk protein, 1 g fiber per 37 g. Catalina Crunch Cinnamon Toast: 11 g pea protein, 6 g fiber per 36 g. Labels compared.
By Chris Carrillo · Reviewed by Armin Rad, Co-Founder & CTO, Aurascan · October 30, 2026
Every article is checked against primary sources before publication. How we review

Magic Spoon Cinnamon Crunch and Catalina Crunch Cinnamon Toast list nearly the same weight per serving (37 g vs 36 g) and zero total and added sugars, but their protein sources, fiber, and sweeteners differ. Magic Spoon lists 12 g of protein from casein and whey per 1 cup, while Catalina lists 11 g from pea protein per 1/2 cup, and Catalina lists 6 g of fiber against Magic Spoon's 1 g. This page sets the two Nutrition Facts panels and ingredient lists side by side and leaves the reading to you.
Key takeaways
These are side-by-side facts, not a ranking.
- At near-equal weight (37 g vs 36 g), Magic Spoon lists 12 g protein from casein and whey, while Catalina lists 11 g from pea protein.
- Catalina lists 6 g dietary fiber per 1/2 cup (21% DV), versus 1 g per 1 cup (4% DV) for Magic Spoon. Catalina's 3/4 cup bowl lists 9 g.
- Magic Spoon's 4 g net carb figure subtracts 10 g of allulose. Catalina's label lists stevia and monk fruit with no allulose.
- Sodium is 200 mg per Magic Spoon serving and 180 mg per Catalina snack serving. Catalina's 3/4 cup bowl lists 270 mg.
How do Magic Spoon Cinnamon Crunch and Catalina Crunch Cinnamon Toast compare at a glance?
The two cereals list almost the same weight per serving, with zero total sugars and zero added sugars on both panels, but they differ on protein source, fiber, sweeteners, and sodium. The table uses each brand's own panel at the serving size that brand printed: Magic Spoon Cinnamon Crunch and Catalina Crunch Cinnamon Toast.
| Label item | Magic Spoon Cinnamon Crunch (per 1 cup, 37 g) | Catalina Crunch Cinnamon Toast (per 1/2 cup, 36 g) |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 140 | 150 |
| Total fat | 8 g (10% DV) | 6 g (8% DV) |
| Saturated fat | 1.5 g (8% DV) | 0.5 g (3% DV) |
| Cholesterol | 10 mg (3% DV) | 0 mg |
| Sodium | 200 mg (9% DV) | 180 mg (8% DV) |
| Total carbohydrate | 15 g (5% DV) | 15 g (5% DV) |
| Dietary fiber | 1 g (4% DV) | 6 g (21% DV) |
| Total sugars / added sugars | 0 g / 0 g | 0 g / 0 g |
| Protein | 12 g (23% DV) | 11 g (17% DV) |
| Protein source | Casein and whey (milk protein blend) | Pea protein (in Catalina Flour) |
| Iron | 0 mg (0% DV) | 3.1 mg (15% DV) |
| Calcium | 30 mg (2% DV) | Not quoted (panel image illegible) |
| Potassium | 25 mg (0% DV) | 20 mg (0% DV) |
| Net carbs | 4 g (brand calculation, subtracts 10 g allulose) | Not disclosed |
| Sweeteners | Allulose, monk fruit extract | Stevia extract, monk fruit extract |
| Milk on label | Listed as an ingredient | No milk listed in ingredients. Made in the Catalina Kitchens that also have peanuts, soy, milk and tree nuts |
The serving sizes are not identical, so the table compares near-equal weights rather than identical servings. Later sections explain how the bowl and container figures change the picture.
What protein is in each cereal: whey and casein or pea?
Magic Spoon Cinnamon Crunch lists its protein as a milk protein blend of casein and whey protein concentrate, while Catalina Crunch Cinnamon Toast lists pea protein within Catalina Flour. The panels show 12 g of protein for Magic Spoon per 1 cup and 11 g for Catalina per 1/2 cup.
Does Magic Spoon or Catalina Crunch have more protein?
Magic Spoon has more protein per listed serving, at 12 g per 1 cup (37 g) compared with 11 g per 1/2 cup (36 g) for Catalina Crunch Cinnamon Toast. Catalina's 3/4 cup bowl (54 g) lists 16 g of protein (24% DV), but Magic Spoon's panel does not list a bowl figure.
The two panels report protein as grams and percent of Daily Value only. PDCAAS, DIAAS and amino-acid scores were not disclosed on either panel.
How much fiber does each cereal list, and where does it come from?
Catalina lists 6 g of dietary fiber per 1/2 cup (21% DV), while Magic Spoon lists 1 g per 1 cup (4% DV). Catalina's 3/4 cup bowl lists 9 g (32% DV). The fiber difference is the largest numerical gap between the two panels.
FDA's percent Daily Value guidance describes 20% DV or more per serving as high and 5% DV or less as low. Under that scale, Catalina's 1/2 cup serving at 21% DV falls in the high band, and Magic Spoon's 4% DV falls in the low band because 4% is 5% or less.
Catalina's ingredient list names corn fiber, pea fiber, chicory root fiber, potato fiber, and guar gum. Magic Spoon's ingredient list names inulin from chicory root and/or agave. The amount each ingredient contributes to the fiber total is not disclosed on either label.
Why does Magic Spoon's 4 g net carb figure depend on allulose?
Magic Spoon's panel reaches 4 g of net carbs by subtracting both fiber and allulose from total carbohydrate: 15 g total carbohydrate minus 1 g fiber minus 10 g allulose equals 4 g. The footnote on the box states that FDA does not consider allulose a total or added sugar for nutrition labeling. That matches FDA's allulose labeling guidance, which says the agency intends to exercise enforcement discretion to exclude allulose from Total Sugars and Added Sugars and to allow 0.4 calories per gram.
Catalina's product page makes no net-carb claim, and its panel does not list allulose. Because its ingredient list names stevia and monk fruit, there is no allulose subtraction to apply, and a Catalina net-carb figure was not disclosed.
The 4 g figure is therefore a brand calculation. A reader who subtracts only fiber from the 15 g total would arrive at 14 g, which shows how much the allulose subtraction changes the number.
Which sweeteners are listed: allulose and monk fruit, or stevia and monk fruit?
Magic Spoon lists a sweetener blend of allulose and monk fruit extract, while Catalina lists stevia extract and monk fruit extract. Monk fruit appears on both labels, so it does not separate the two products.
What sweetener is in Magic Spoon Cinnamon Crunch?
Magic Spoon's sweetener blend is allulose and monk fruit extract, according to its ingredient list. The same panel reports 0 g of total sugars and 0 g of added sugars per 1 cup.
FDA's sweetener page says monk fruit extract is reported to be 100 to 250 times sweeter than sugar, and that FDA has not questioned the GRAS conclusions in the notices it evaluated.
How much sodium is in each cereal per serving and per bowl?
Magic Spoon lists 200 mg of sodium (9% DV) per 1 cup, and Catalina lists 180 mg (8% DV) per 1/2 cup snack serving. Catalina's 3/4 cup bowl lists 270 mg (12% DV). A Magic Spoon bowl figure is not on its panel, so a bowl-to-bowl comparison is not possible from the labels.
Sodium amounts change with serving size, so the bowl and snack figures should be read against the serving each brand printed.
Do the serving sizes change the comparison?
Yes, because Magic Spoon's panel uses 1 cup (37 g) and Catalina's snack serving uses 1/2 cup (36 g), while Catalina also prints a 3/4 cup (54 g) bowl. Per container, Magic Spoon's 7 oz (198 g) box holds about 5 servings, and Catalina's container holds about 7 snack servings or 4.5 bowl servings.
The bowl figures change the numbers considerably for Catalina. Its 3/4 cup bowl lists 220 calories, 9 g fat, 270 mg sodium, 22 g carbohydrate, 9 g fiber, 16 g protein, and 4.7 mg iron. Magic Spoon's panel does not include a bowl column, so its per-bowl values are not available here.
Price per serving was not disclosed for either product, so this comparison does not include cost. Readers who want to compare cost should use the price and container size on their own package or retailer page.
Which allergen and manufacturing statements appear on each label?
Magic Spoon's label says it contains milk and is manufactured in a facility that processes wheat, soy, tree nuts, and sesame. Catalina's label says "Made in the Catalina Kitchens that also have peanuts, soy, milk and tree nuts."
Does Catalina Crunch have dairy?
No milk is listed in Catalina Crunch Cinnamon Toast's ingredients, but its label says it is made in the Catalina Kitchens that also have milk.
For readers managing milk allergies, the difference between an ingredient and a facility statement matters. Readers with allergies should follow their own clinician's guidance and read the current package.
What can these labels not establish?
The labels report per-serving figures only, so they cannot show how a bowl of either cereal compares with a bowl of the other, except where Catalina prints a bowl column. Magic Spoon's bowl values, Catalina's calcium value, and Catalina's net carbs are not available from the panels used here, and price was not disclosed for either product.
Neither panel discloses PDCAAS, DIAAS, or amino-acid scores. This comparison cannot establish how either cereal affects any individual's health, blood sugar, or digestion, and it does not test either product directly.
For other protein label breakdowns, read the Which Has More Protein, Siggi's or Icelandic Provisions? and Vital Proteins vs Sports Research: 18 g vs 10 g Protein comparisons. To check the box in your own pantry, scan its label with the Aurascan app.
Try Aurascan
See what is really in the food you buy.
Common questions
- Does Magic Spoon or Catalina Crunch have more protein?
- Magic Spoon has more protein per listed serving, at 12 g per 1 cup (37 g) versus 11 g per 1/2 cup (36 g) for Catalina Crunch Cinnamon Toast. Catalina's 3/4 cup bowl lists 16 g.
- Is Magic Spoon healthier than Catalina Crunch?
- This comparison does not rank the two cereals. The labels differ in protein source, fiber (1 g vs 6 g per serving), sweeteners, and sodium (200 mg vs 180 mg per serving), and readers can weigh those differences themselves.
- Does Catalina Crunch have dairy?
- No milk is listed in Catalina Crunch Cinnamon Toast's ingredients, but its label says it is made in the Catalina Kitchens that also have milk.
- What sweetener is in Magic Spoon?
- Magic Spoon Cinnamon Crunch lists a sweetener blend of allulose and monk fruit extract. Its panel reports 0 g total sugars and 0 g added sugars per 1 cup.
- Does Catalina Crunch contain allulose?
- No allulose appears in Catalina Crunch Cinnamon Toast's listed ingredients, which name stevia extract and monk fruit extract as sweeteners.
- Why does Magic Spoon list 4 g net carbs?
- Magic Spoon's panel subtracts 1 g fiber and 10 g allulose from 15 g total carbohydrate, which leaves 4 g of net carbs per 1 cup.
- Is allulose counted as sugar on food labels?
- FDA guidance says the agency intends to exercise enforcement discretion to exclude allulose from Total Sugars and Added Sugars on Nutrition Facts labels and to allow 0.4 calories per gram for allulose.
Sources
- Magic Spoon Cinnamon Crunch cereal product page (magicspoon.com)
- Catalina Crunch Cinnamon Toast cereal product page (us.catalinacrunch.com)
- Guidance for Industry: Declaration of Allulose in Calories and Allulose in Nutrition and Supplement Facts Labels (fda.gov)
- Aspartame and Other Sweeteners in Food (fda.gov)
- Lows and Highs: Percent Daily Value on the Nutrition Facts Label (fda.gov)
- Sodium in Your Diet (fda.gov)
In this series
Guide
Which Has More Protein, Siggi's or Icelandic Provisions?Guide
Vital Proteins vs Sports Research: 18 g vs 10 g ProteinGuide
Does Banza Have Xanthan Gum? Yes; Barilla Chickpea Doesn'tGuide
Tyson vs Perdue Dino Nuggets: Which Is Healthier? 13 g vs 9 g ProteinGuide
Are MorningStar Chik'n Nuggets Vegan? Yes, and So Is GardeinGuide
Lean Cuisine vs Healthy Choice Alfredo: 19 g or 21 g Protein?
Related guides
Comparisons
Which Has More Protein, Siggi's or Icelandic Provisions?Plain cups, 150 g each: Icelandic Provisions lists 17 g protein, Siggi's 16 g. In vanilla it flips, 16 g vs 15 g. Fat, added sugar and cultures compared.
Comparisons
Does Banza Have Xanthan Gum? Yes; Barilla Chickpea Doesn'tYes: Banza penne lists chickpeas, pea starch, tapioca and xanthan gum; Barilla Chickpea Penne is one ingredient. Protein, fiber and sodium compared.
Comparisons
Vital Proteins vs Sports Research: 18 g vs 10 g ProteinVital Proteins: 18 g protein, 20 g collagen per 3 Tbsp (21 g). Sports Research: 10 g protein, 11 g collagen per 1 scoop (11 g). Both list protein at 0% or <1% DV.
Try it on your own groceries
Scan your next label with Aurascan
Point the camera at any ingredient list and get the same evidence-graded read you see here.
Open the scannerGet food recall alerts + a weekly digest
An email when a food recall is announced, plus one weekly roundup of label news and new guides.
We email a confirmation link first - nothing is sent until you click it. Unsubscribe anytime. Privacy