Aurascan

Comparisons · October 19, 2026 · Updated October 25, 2026 · 9 min read

Hebrew National vs Nathan's: Sodium 480 mg vs 400 mg

Hebrew National's 49 g beef frank lists 480 mg sodium; Nathan's 42 g skinless frank lists 400 mg. Both are cured with sodium nitrite.

By Chris Carrillo · Reviewed by Armin Rad, Co-Founder & CTO, Aurascan · October 25, 2026

Every article is checked against primary sources before publication. How we review

Illustration of two plump skinless beef franks side by side on a round ceramic plate

Per frank, the Hebrew National Beef Franks label (49 g) lists 480 mg sodium and 13 g total fat, while Nathan's Famous Skinless Beef Franks (42 g) list 400 mg sodium and 12 g total fat. Per 100 g the two products are close, so much of the per-frank sodium gap follows the difference in frank weight. Both ingredient lists name sodium nitrite, but the labels differ on other additives, kosher wording and brand claims, as the side-by-side sections below show.

Key takeaways

  • Per frank, Hebrew National (49 g) lists 480 mg sodium and 13 g total fat; Nathan's skinless (42 g) lists 400 mg sodium and 12 g total fat.
  • Per 100 g, the two are close (about 980 mg vs 952 mg sodium), so most of the per-frank sodium gap comes from the 7 g weight difference.
  • Both ingredient lists name sodium nitrite, sodium erythorbate, sodium diacetate and paprika; the other additives differ.
  • Hebrew National's ingredient list says 'Kosher Beef'; Nathan's page makes a 100% premium beef claim and no kosher claim.

Which Frank Has More Sodium Per Frank, and Does Frank Weight Explain the Gap?

Hebrew National lists 480 mg of sodium per 49 g frank (21% DV) on its SmartLabel nutrition panel, while Nathan's skinless lists 400 mg per 42 g frank (17% DV) on Nathan's product page. The per-frank gap is 80 mg.

Divide each label by its frank weight and the gap narrows. Hebrew National works out to about 980 mg sodium per 100 g, and Nathan's to about 952 mg per 100 g. If a Nathan's frank had Hebrew National's 49 g weight at Nathan's per-gram level, it would hold about 467 mg sodium. That means roughly 67 of the 80 mg per-frank gap comes from the 7 g weight difference, and about 13 mg reflects the slightly higher sodium density of the Hebrew National frank. These are calculations from the two panels, not figures printed on either package.

Serving size matters for any comparison. Other pack sizes and product lines can list different numbers, so always check the serving size on the package you are holding.

For more context on sodium comparisons across other packaged foods, see Is Annie's Healthier Than Kraft Mac? 640 mg vs 530 mg Sodium.

How Do Hebrew National and Nathan's Compare on Calories and Total Fat Per Frank?

Hebrew National lists 150 calories and 13 g total fat per frank, while Nathan's skinless lists 130 calories and 12 g total fat per frank. The table below places the per-frank panels side by side.

Nutrient (per frank)Hebrew National Beef Franks (49 g)Nathan's Famous Skinless Beef Franks (42 g)
Calories150130
Total fat13 g12 g
Saturated fat5 g (25% DV)5 g (25% DV)
Trans fat0.5 g1 g (as listed)
Cholesterol30 mg20 mg
Sodium480 mg (21% DV)400 mg (17% DV)
Total carbohydrate2 g1 g
Dietary fiber0 g0 g
Total sugars / added sugars0 g / 0 g0 g / 0 g
Protein6 g5 g
Other listed nutrientsIron 4% DVVitamin D 0.1 mcg
Calories per 100 g (calculated)About 306About 310
Sodium per 100 g (calculated)About 980 mgAbout 952 mg

On a per 100 g basis, the calorie figures are also close, at about 306 and about 310. Nathan's is slightly denser per gram, so the 20 kcal per-frank gap comes from the weight difference.

Saturated Fat and Trans Fat: What Do the Two Labels List?

Both labels list 5 g of saturated fat per frank, but the trans fat entries differ: 0.5 g for Hebrew National and 1 g for Nathan's, as listed on the Nathan's page. Both panels show saturated fat at 25% DV per frank.

The reason Nathan's lists 1 g of trans fat is not disclosed. The page does not say whether the trans fat is naturally occurring or added, so a shopper cannot tell from the listing alone.

For a side-by-side look at saturated fat in a plant-based burger pair, see Impossible vs Beyond Burger: 6 g vs 2 g Saturated Fat.

A quick checklist for fat and trans fat on any frank label:

  • Find the serving size line first, then read the grams per frank.
  • Compare the Trans Fat line directly, not only the total fat figure.
  • Check whether a % Daily Value is printed for saturated fat.
  • Note cholesterol in milligrams, since Hebrew National lists 30 mg and Nathan's lists 20 mg.

What Curing Agents Are in Each Frank, and What Do They Share?

Both ingredient lists name sodium nitrite, sodium erythorbate, sodium diacetate and paprika, so these four additives appear on each label. Sodium nitrite is the curing agent named on both lists.

Neither brand discloses the amount of sodium nitrite per frank, so the labels cannot be compared on nitrite quantity. The same applies to sodium erythorbate and sodium diacetate, whose amounts are not stated on either panel.

Do Hebrew National Beef Franks Have Nitrates?

The Hebrew National ingredient list names sodium nitrite, not sodium nitrate, and the amount per frank is not disclosed. Nathan's also lists sodium nitrite and no sodium nitrate.

Do the Ingredient Lists Differ Beyond Curing Agents: Kosher Beef, Sorbitol, and Fillers?

Beyond the shared curing agents, the two ingredient lists differ in several additives and protein sources. Hebrew National's list begins with Kosher Beef and Water, then names Salt, Spice, Sodium Lactate, Paprika, Hydrolyzed Soy Protein, Garlic Powder, Sodium Diacetate, Sodium Erythorbate, Flavoring and Sodium Nitrite. The Open Food Facts record for the same barcode shows the same list.

Nathan's list begins with Beef and Water, then names Salt, Sorbitol, Potassium Lactate, Natural Flavoring, Sodium Phosphate, Hydrolyzed Corn Protein, Paprika, Sodium Diacetate, Sodium Erythorbate and Sodium Nitrite.

The main non-shared differences are these:

  • Hebrew National: sodium lactate, hydrolyzed soy protein, garlic powder, spice, and the word 'Flavoring'.
  • Nathan's: potassium lactate, sorbitol, sodium phosphate, hydrolyzed corn protein, and 'Natural Flavoring'.

What the 'Flavoring' or 'Natural Flavoring' consists of is not disclosed on either label. The allergen statement for Hebrew National's hydrolyzed soy protein is not covered here, so readers who need to avoid soy or corn should check the allergen line on the package.

What Do the Label Claims Say: Kosher Beef, 100% Premium Beef, and No Fillers?

Hebrew National's ingredient list says 'Kosher Beef', while Nathan's skinless page makes no kosher claim. The Hebrew National details summarized here are the ingredient list and nutrition panel, linked from the brand's product page.

Nathan's page says its franks are made with 100% premium beef, contain no fillers or by-products, and are free of corn syrup and artificial flavors and colors. Those are brand claims made on the product page, and the page does not describe how they are verified.

Are Nathan's Famous Skinless Beef Franks Kosher?

Whether Nathan's Famous Skinless Beef Franks are kosher certified is not disclosed, because the Nathan's page makes no kosher claim. Only the Hebrew National ingredient list uses the words 'Kosher Beef'.

Are Nathan's Hot Dogs All Beef?

The Nathan's page says the franks are made with 100% premium beef, and the ingredient list begins with beef. The same list also includes water and smaller amounts of salt, sorbitol, lactates, phosphate, flavoring, a plant-derived protein, and curing agents. Whether 'all beef' fits a shopper's expectation depends on how the list and the brand claim are read together, so the full ingredient list is the best reference.

For a broader view of meat-label recall news, see Fake USDA Inspection Mark: 167,639 Pounds of Meat Recalled.

How Do the Sodium and Fat Figures Compare Against FDA Daily Value Guides?

On the FDA's general sodium guide, one Hebrew National frank at 21% DV falls in the high band, while one Nathan's frank at 17% DV sits just under it. The FDA treats 5% DV or less as low and 20% DV or more as high.

The FDA lists the Daily Value for sodium as less than 2,300 mg per day, and notes that Americans eat on average about 3,400 mg of sodium per day. The guide is general and does not account for individual medical needs.

For fat, both panels list saturated fat at 25% DV per frank.

What Does the WHO Say About Processed Meat, and Where Do These Franks Fit?

The World Health Organization's cancer agency classifies processed meat as Group 1, carcinogenic to humans, and it gives hot dogs (frankfurters) as an example. Processed meat is defined as meat transformed through salting, curing, fermentation, smoking or other processes. The agency states that the evidence shows eating processed meat causes colorectal cancer.

Group 1 describes the strength of the evidence, not the size of the risk for any one food or person. Both products here are frankfurters cured with nitrite, so they fall within that definition.

How Can You Check the Per-Frank Numbers on Your Own Package?

Start with the serving size line, because the per-frank figures above are tied to 49 g for Hebrew National and 42 g for Nathan's. A few other label lines are worth checking:

  • Servings per container: Hebrew National lists 6 servings (net weight 10.3 oz / 292 g); Nathan's 8-pack lists 8 servings per container.
  • Sodium line and % DV, so you can compare against the FDA sodium guide.
  • The 'Contains 2% or less of' section, which groups the minor ingredients.
  • Claim wording such as 'Kosher Beef', '100% premium beef', or 'no fillers'.
  • The allergen statement, which is not covered in the figures above.
  • The UPC and product line, since listings can differ by product and batch. The Hebrew National UPC is 074956180574. The Nathan's 8-pack net weight and UPC are not disclosed in the page text used here.

Scan the barcode on your own package with the Aurascan app to see each ingredient explained with its evidence.

Related reading: Does Slim Jim Have Nitrites? Yes. Slim Jim vs Jack Link's Jerky.

Related reading: Which Has More Sodium, French's or Grey Poupon? 55 vs 115 mg.

Try Aurascan

See what is really in the food you buy.

Common questions

Which has more sodium, Hebrew National or Nathan's skinless franks?
Per frank, Hebrew National lists 480 mg sodium for a 49 g frank, and Nathan's skinless lists 400 mg for a 42 g frank. Per 100 g the two are close, at about 980 mg and about 952 mg, so most of the per-frank gap tracks the weight difference.
Do Hebrew National beef franks have nitrates?
The Hebrew National ingredient list names sodium nitrite, not sodium nitrate. The amount of sodium nitrite per frank is not disclosed by the brand.
Are Nathan's Famous Skinless Beef Franks kosher?
Whether Nathan's Famous Skinless Beef Franks are kosher certified is not disclosed. The Nathan's page makes no kosher claim, while the Hebrew National ingredient list says 'Kosher Beef'.
Are Nathan's hot dogs all beef?
The Nathan's page says the franks are made with 100% premium beef, and the ingredient list begins with beef. The list also includes water and other smaller-amount ingredients, so the full list is the best reference.
Do both franks contain the same curing agents?
Both ingredient lists name sodium nitrite, sodium erythorbate and sodium diacetate, along with paprika. The amounts of these additives are not stated on either label.
Is processed meat classified as carcinogenic?
The WHO's cancer agency classifies processed meat as Group 1, carcinogenic to humans, and lists hot dogs as an example. Group 1 describes the strength of the evidence, not the size of the risk for any one person.

Sources

  1. Hebrew National Beef Franks SmartLabel (smartlabel.conagra.com)
  2. Hebrew National Kosher Beef Franks (hebrewnational.com)
  3. Nathan's Famous Skinless Beef Franks 8 Pack (nathansfranks.sfdbrands.com)
  4. Hebrew National Beef Franks, UPC 0074956180574 (world.openfoodfacts.org)
  5. Sodium in Your Diet (fda.gov)
  6. Cancer carcinogenicity of the consumption of red meat and processed meat: questions and answers (who.int)

In this series

Related guides

Try it on your own groceries

Scan your next label with Aurascan

Point the camera at any ingredient list and get the same evidence-graded read you see here.

Open the scanner

Get food recall alerts + a weekly digest

An email when a food recall is announced, plus one weekly roundup of label news and new guides.

We email a confirmation link first - nothing is sent until you click it. Unsubscribe anytime. Privacy