Comparisons · October 25, 2026 · 6 min read
Does Slim Jim Have Nitrites? Yes. Slim Jim vs Jack Link's Jerky
Slim Jim Original lists sodium nitrite; Jack Link's Original uses cultured celery extract. Compare protein (6 g vs 10 g), sodium, sugar and allergens per serving.
By Chris Carrillo · Reviewed by Armin Rad, Co-Founder & CTO, Aurascan · October 25, 2026
Every article is checked against primary sources before publication. How we review

Slim Jim Original and Jack Link's Original Beef Jerky are both packaged meat snacks, but their labels differ on curing ingredients and on nutrition per serving. Slim Jim lists sodium nitrite in its ingredients, while Jack Link's lists cultured celery extract and states 'No added nitrates or nitrites*'. Per labeled serving, Jack Link's shows more protein and sugar, Slim Jim shows more fat, and sodium is nearly identical. This article does not name a winner. It places the label facts side by side so you can see which factors matter to you.
Key takeaways
- Slim Jim Original lists Sodium Nitrite as an ingredient, while Jack Link's Original lists Cultured Celery Extract and claims 'No added nitrates or nitrites*'.
- Per serving, Jack Link's Original lists 10 g protein per 1 oz (28 g) serving, and Slim Jim Original lists 6 g protein per 4-stick (32 g) serving.
- Slim Jim Original lists 530 mg sodium per 4-stick serving (23% DV), and Jack Link's Original lists 520 mg per 1 oz serving (23% DV).
- Slim Jim Original lists 'Contains: Soy' and includes barley malt extract, while Jack Link's Original lists 'Contains: wheat, soy.'
Slim Jim vs Jack Link's: Sodium Nitrite or Cultured Celery for Curing?
Slim Jim Original's SmartLabel ingredient list names sodium nitrite directly as its curing agent. Jack Link's Original lists cultured celery extract instead, and its package copy, as shown on a Stop & Shop product listing, says 'No added nitrates or nitrites*'. The asterisk indicates that nitrates or nitrites naturally occurring in sea salt and cultured celery extract are excluded from that claim.
Both approaches involve nitrate or nitrite chemistry, but the form on the label differs. One label names sodium nitrite, and the other names a plant-derived ingredient. Neither label discloses the nitrite concentration of the finished product, and Jack Link's does not state how much nitrite cultured celery extract contributes.
| Label item | Slim Jim Original | Jack Link's Original |
|---|---|---|
| Curing ingredient listed | Sodium Nitrite | Cultured Celery Extract |
| Nitrite claim | Not stated | 'No added nitrates or nitrites*' with asterisk |
| Serving size | 4 sticks (32 g) | 1 oz (28 g) |
| Calories | 150 | 80 |
| Protein | 6 g | 10 g |
| Total fat | 11 g (14% DV) | 1.5 g (2% DV) |
| Sodium | 530 mg (23% DV) | 520 mg (23% DV) |
| Total sugars | 1 g | 6 g |
| Allergen statement | Contains: Soy | Contains: wheat, soy |
Does Slim Jim Have Nitrites?
Yes. Slim Jim Original lists sodium nitrite as the last item in its 'Contains less than 2% of' group, and the single 8 g stick carries the same ingredient list. The label does not state how much nitrite the finished product contains.
The USDA labeling rule for cured products requires any substance used to cure a product, such as sodium nitrite, to be identified in the ingredients statement, which is why it appears by name on the Slim Jim label.
For background on the ingredient itself, see Is Sodium Nitrite Safe? Cured Meat, Nitrosamines, and Labels.
What Does the Jack Link's Nitrite Claim Mean on the Label?
The Jack Link's package copy, as shown on a retailer listing, claims 'No added nitrates or nitrites*', and the asterisk limits that claim to added nitrate or nitrite. The label does not say the product contains zero nitrite, and whether the nitrite from cultured celery extract is measured in the finished product was not disclosed.
Under the U.S. labeling rules at 9 CFR 317.17, products normally made with nitrate or nitrite but prepared without them are labeled 'Uncured' with the statement 'No Nitrate or Nitrite Added' next to the product name. Whether the Jack Link's front label carries the word 'Uncured' was not disclosed, so this article does not say which wording appears on the package.
An older Jack Link's Original label still listed on Open Food Facts (UPC 0017082876317) shows no celery extract in its ingredients. The date of the recipe change was not disclosed. The current label also says 'Slow cooked and hardwood smoked' and 'No added MSG**'. For background on that second term, see Is MSG (Monosodium Glutamate, E621) Safe? Uses and Labels.
How Much Protein Do Slim Jim Original and Jack Link's Original Provide per Serving?
Jack Link's Original lists 10 g of protein per 1 oz (28 g) serving, which works out to about 0.36 g of protein per gram of product (10 ÷ 28). Slim Jim Original lists 6 g per 4-stick (32 g) serving, about 0.19 g per gram (6 ÷ 32). A single 8 g Slim Jim stick lists 1 g of protein.
Because the serving sizes differ, the raw gram figures are not directly comparable. The Jack Link's package also states '10 g protein per serving'. On a per-gram basis, Jack Link's shows the higher protein figure. Read the Nutrition Facts panel on the package you are holding, since formulations and labels can change.
How Much Sodium Is in Slim Jim Original vs Jack Link's Original per Serving?
Slim Jim Original lists 530 mg sodium per 4-stick (32 g) serving, which is 23% of the Daily Value. Jack Link's Original lists 520 mg per 1 oz (28 g) serving, also 23% DV. A single Slim Jim stick lists 130 mg (6% DV).
The FDA sets the Daily Value for sodium at less than 2,300 mg per day. As a general guide, the FDA says 5% DV or less of sodium per serving is considered low and 20% DV or more is considered high. By that definition, both labeled servings fall in the high range.
How Much Sugar Is in Slim Jim Original vs Jack Link's Original per Serving?
Slim Jim Original lists 1 g total sugars and less than 1 g added sugars (1% DV) per 4-stick serving. Jack Link's Original lists 6 g total sugars per 1 oz serving. Open Food Facts lists 6 g added sugars per 28 g for the same product.
The ingredient lists explain part of the difference in naming. Jack Link's lists Sugar and Brown Sugar near the start of its ingredients. Slim Jim lists Corn Syrup in its main ingredient list and Dextrose among the ingredients present at less than 2%. Compare the nutrition panel totals for each serving.
Which Allergens Are Listed on Slim Jim Original vs Jack Link's Original Labels?
Slim Jim Original's SmartLabel lists 'Contains: Soy'. Soy appears in the ingredients as Textured Soy Flour, Hydrolyzed Soy Protein, and Soy Lecithin. Barley malt extract is also in the ingredient list. Barley is not one of FDA's nine major food allergens, but it is still relevant for people who avoid barley.
Jack Link's Original lists 'Contains: wheat, soy.' Its soy sauce ingredient is listed as Soy Sauce (Wheat, Soybeans, Salt). Gluten-free status was not disclosed for either product, and Slim Jim's ingredient list includes barley malt extract.
Allergen information can change when a recipe changes, so check the current package each time you buy. People with specific allergies or medical conditions should follow guidance from a clinician rather than label comparisons alone.
To check these labels yourself, scan the package with the Aurascan app and compare the curing agent, allergens, and nutrition panel on the exact product you are buying.
Try Aurascan
See what is really in the food you buy.
Common questions
- Does Slim Jim have nitrites?
- Sodium Nitrite is listed in the ingredients of Slim Jim Original, and the single 8 g stick lists the same ingredients. The label does not state the nitrite concentration.
- Does Jack Link's jerky have nitrates or nitrites?
- The package copy says 'No added nitrates or nitrites*', with an asterisk excluding nitrate or nitrite naturally occurring in sea salt and cultured celery extract. The nitrite contributed by cultured celery extract was not disclosed.
- Which has more protein, Slim Jim or Jack Link's?
- Per labeled serving, Jack Link's Original lists 10 g protein per 1 oz (28 g), and Slim Jim Original lists 6 g per 4-stick (32 g) serving. Per gram of product, Jack Link's is about 0.36 g and Slim Jim about 0.19 g.
- Is Jack Link's jerky healthier than Slim Jim?
- This article does not rank the products. The labels show Jack Link's with more protein and sugar per labeled serving, Slim Jim with more fat, and sodium that is nearly identical at 530 mg and 520 mg (both 23% DV).
- Does Slim Jim contain soy or wheat?
- Slim Jim Original lists 'Contains: Soy' and includes barley malt extract. Jack Link's Original lists 'Contains: wheat, soy.' Individual allergy questions are best answered by a clinician.
- Is Slim Jim gluten-free?
- Gluten-free status was not disclosed for Slim Jim Original, and barley malt extract is listed in its ingredients.
- What does 'Uncured' mean on a meat label?
- Under the U.S. rules at 9 CFR 317.17, products normally made with nitrate or nitrite but prepared without them are labeled 'Uncured' with the statement 'No Nitrate or Nitrite Added'. Whether the Jack Link's front label uses 'Uncured' was not disclosed.
Sources
- Slim Jim Original Smoked Snack Stick SmartLabel (smartlabel.conagra.com)
- Jack Link's Original Beef Jerky 2.85 oz bag, package copy and nutrition listing (stopandshop.com)
- Jack Link's Original Beef Jerky ingredient transcription, UPC 0017082884008 (world.openfoodfacts.org)
- Jack Link's Original older label transcription, UPC 0017082876317 (world.openfoodfacts.org)
- 9 CFR 317.17 Labeling, product dating, and storage requirements for certain products (ecfr.gov)
- Sodium in Your Diet (fda.gov)
In this series
Guide
Oscar Mayer vs Hillshire Turkey: Nitrates? 530 vs 600 mg SodiumGuide
Calcium Propionate: The Bread Mold Inhibitor, ExplainedGuide
Is Propylene Glycol (E1520) Safe? Food Uses, Cats, and LabelsGuide
What Is Xanthan Gum? Uses, Safety, Gut Health, and LabelsGuide
Is BHT (E321) Safe? Uses, Limits, FDA Review, and LabelsGuide
Are Sulfites Safe? Wine, Dried Fruit, Asthma, and Labels
Related guides
Comparisons
Is Lunchly Healthier Than Lunchables? 6 g vs 14 g Added SugarLunchly Turkey Stack 'Ems lists 6 g added sugar to the Lunchables Turkey & Cheddar Fun Pack's 14 g, but 13 g fat vs 8 g; both are 250 calories.
Comparisons
Is Kite Hill Real Cream Cheese? No Dairy, vs PhiladelphiaNo: Kite Hill is an almond-milk cream cheese alternative with two gums; FDA's cream cheese standard uses dairy. Sodium and fat vs Philadelphia, per serving.
Comparisons
Does Kikkoman Have Gluten? It Lists Wheat; La Choy Doesn'tKikkoman's ingredients include wheat; La Choy uses hydrolyzed soy protein and is labeled gluten free. Sodium per tbsp: 960 mg vs 1,330 mg. Full labels compared.
Try it on your own groceries
Scan your next label with Aurascan
Point the camera at any ingredient list and get the same evidence-graded read you see here.
Open the scannerGet food recall alerts + a weekly digest
An email when a food recall is announced, plus one weekly roundup of label news and new guides.
We email a confirmation link first - nothing is sent until you click it. Unsubscribe anytime. Privacy