Comparisons · October 22, 2026 · 8 min read
A&W vs Barq's: Does Barq's Have Caffeine? Yes, 22 mg
Barq's Root Beer has 22 mg caffeine per 12 oz can; A&W Root Beer is caffeine free. Compare sugar, sodium and ingredients of both cans.
By Chris Carrillo · Reviewed by Armin Rad, Co-Founder & CTO, Aurascan · October 22, 2026
Every article is checked against primary sources before publication. How we review

A&W Root Beer and Barq's Root Beer are compared side by side per 12 fl oz can on caffeine, sugar, sodium and ingredients.
Per 12 fl oz can, Barq's Root Beer lists 22 mg of caffeine, while A&W Root Beer is labeled caffeine free (0 mg). Total sugars are 44 g for Barq's and 43 g for A&W. Sodium is 65 mg for Barq's and 85 mg for A&W. Calories are 180 for Barq's and 160 for A&W. The sections below set these label figures against each other so you can compare them yourself.
Key takeaways
- Barq's Root Beer 12 fl oz can lists 22 mg of caffeine. A&W Root Beer 12 fl oz is labeled caffeine free, and its ingredient list contains no caffeine.
- Total sugars are 44 g for Barq's and 43 g for A&W per 12 fl oz can. A&W lists 43 g of added sugars, or 86% of the Daily Value.
- Sodium is 65 mg (3% DV) for Barq's and 85 mg (4% DV) for A&W per 12 fl oz can. Calories are 180 for Barq's and 160 for A&W.
- Both lists include high fructose corn syrup, caramel color and sodium benzoate. Barq's also lists citric acid, caffeine and acacia, while A&W lists quillaia extract.
Does Barq's Root Beer Have Caffeine? Caffeine Per 12 fl oz Can
22 mg per 12 fl oz can is the caffeine figure printed on the Barq's Root Beer label, which lists caffeine as an ingredient. A 12 fl oz can of Barq's therefore contains 22 mg of caffeine, while A&W Root Beer in the same can size is labeled caffeine free.
The caffeine difference comes from the ingredient lists. Barq's lists CAFFEINE as an ingredient and prints "CAFFEINE CONTENT: 22 mg/12 fl oz." A 20 fl oz Barq's Root Beer bottle label with the same ingredient list reports 37 mg per 20 fl oz. That is a different serving size, so it should not be compared directly with the 12 fl oz figure.
The caffeine-free claim for A&W is stated on the 12 fl oz can listing. This comparison covers only that can size.
Does A&W Root Beer Have Caffeine?
No. A&W Root Beer's 12 fl oz can is labeled caffeine free, and its ingredient list does not include caffeine. Other A&W products are outside the scope of this comparison.
How Much Sugar Is in A&W Root Beer vs Barq's Root Beer Per 12 fl oz Can?
Barq's lists 44 g of total sugars per 12 fl oz can. A&W lists 43 g of total sugars and 43 g of added sugars. The two sugar totals are close, and both drinks are sweetened with high fructose corn syrup.
Does A&W Root Beer Have Sugar?
Yes. A 12 fl oz can of A&W Root Beer lists 43 g of total sugars and 43 g of added sugars.
Does Barq's Root Beer Have High Fructose Corn Syrup?
Yes. Its ingredient list includes high fructose corn syrup, and the 12 fl oz can lists 44 g of total sugars.
The Barq's brand page lists "Includes Added Sugars 0g" beside 89% Daily Value. This is not reconciled on the page, and the added-sugars figure was not confirmed. As a calculation only, 89% of the 50 g Daily Value is about 44 g, which lines up with the total sugars figure. Check the Nutrition Facts panel on the can for the added-sugars line.
FDA states that for most Americans the main sources of added sugars are sugar-sweetened beverages, baked goods, desserts and sweets (FDA guidance on added sugars on the Nutrition Facts label). The FDA Daily Value for added sugars is 50 g per day on a 2,000-calorie diet. One 12 fl oz can of either root beer, at 43-44 g of sugars, supplies roughly 86-89% of that Daily Value.
How Much Sodium Is in A&W Root Beer vs Barq's Root Beer Per 12 fl oz Can?
Per 12 fl oz can, Barq's Root Beer contains 65 mg of sodium (3% of the Daily Value), and A&W Root Beer contains 85 mg of sodium (4% of the Daily Value).
The FDA Daily Value for sodium is 2,300 mg. Both figures are small fractions of that reference amount for a single can.
The Nutrition Facts panel on the can in hand is the final reference, since this article cannot cover every package version.
What Ingredients Are in A&W Root Beer vs Barq's Root Beer, and How Do They Differ?
Both ingredient lists share several items. Each includes carbonated water, high fructose corn syrup, caramel color, sodium benzoate and natural and artificial flavors. The overlap is large, but the lists are not identical.
Barq's Root Beer lists:
- Carbonated water
- High fructose corn syrup
- Caramel color
- Sodium benzoate (to protect taste)
- Citric acid
- Caffeine
- Artificial and natural flavors
- Acacia
A&W Root Beer lists:
- Carbonated water
- High fructose corn syrup
- Caramel color
- Sodium benzoate (preservative)
- Natural and artificial flavors
- Quillaia extract
The differences are citric acid, caffeine and acacia on the Barq's list, and quillaia extract on the A&W list. A&W's list does not contain caffeine, citric acid or phosphoric acid. Neither verbatim list includes Red 40.
For a Barq's side note, the brand's separate Red Creme Soda does list Red 40. That is a different product from Root Beer. Other soda comparisons, such as Fanta Orange vs Sprite: Why One Has Dyes and One Doesn't, explain how dye-containing and dye-free labels differ.
Neither label discloses whether it contains sassafras, vanilla, cinnamon or wintergreen. Both list only "natural and artificial flavors," and the specific flavor sources are not disclosed.
How Much Caffeine Is Too Much, and Who Should Be Cautious With Root Beer?
FDA states that for most healthy adults, 400 mg of caffeine a day is an amount not generally associated with negative effects. A 12 fl oz can of Barq's, at 22 mg, is about 5.5% of that 400 mg reference. A can of A&W contributes 0 mg of caffeine according to its label.
FDA also notes that sensitivity to caffeine varies widely between people. Caffeine intake from all sources adds up, including coffee, tea, energy drinks and some medications, so a single soda is only one part of the total.
FDA advises that people who are pregnant, trying to become pregnant or breastfeeding should ask a health care provider about limiting caffeine. For children and teens, FDA notes that medical experts, including the American Academy of Pediatrics, advise against energy drinks. FDA also states that too much caffeine in children and teens can cause increased heart rate, palpitations, high blood pressure, anxiety and sleep problems.
People who have phenylketonuria should note that the Barq's Zero Sugar Root Beer label states "PHENYLKETONURICS: CONTAINS PHENYLALANINE." That statement appears on the zero-sugar product, not on the regular Root Beer labels in this comparison.
Questions about your own caffeine intake are best directed to a health care provider.
How Do You Spot Caffeine, Sugar and Sodium on A&W and Barq's Root Beer Labels?
Use these steps when you compare any root beer can or bottle:
- Check the serving size first. Compare 12 fl oz with 12 fl oz, since a 20 fl oz bottle reports caffeine per 20 fl oz.
- Look for the caffeine line. Barq's prints a caffeine content statement, while the A&W 12 fl oz listing shows caffeine free.
- Read Total Sugars and Added Sugars separately. Confirm the added-sugars figure on the physical can, since the Barq's brand page contains a discrepancy.
- Compare sodium in milligrams and as a percentage of the Daily Value.
- Scan the ingredient list for caffeine, citric acid, acacia, quillaia extract and sodium benzoate, since these are the items that differ between the two root beers.
- Check the Nutrition Facts panel for calories, because the labels list 180 and 160 calories per 12 fl oz can.
The calorie gap between these drinks is not explained in the brand materials. The Barq's page shows 180 calories, while the A&W listing shows 160 calories with nearly the same sugar content. Neither source gives a reason, so readers should confirm calories on the package in hand.
For more label-reading practice across soda categories, see Coke vs Pepsi: Caffeine, Sugar and Ingredients Compared.
What Other Root Beers Are Available in A&W and Barq's Zero Sugar Lines?
Barq's Zero Sugar Root Beer is described by Coca-Cola as caffeine free. A 12 fl oz can lists 0 calories, 50 mg of sodium, 50 mg of potassium and 0 g of sugars. Its ingredients are carbonated water, caramel color, potassium sorbate and sodium benzoate (to protect taste), aspartame, citric acid, acesulfame potassium, artificial and natural flavors, acacia and potassium chloride.
The Barq's Zero Sugar line therefore differs from the regular root beer on sugar, calories, sodium and sweeteners. It is not the same product as the regular Barq's Root Beer compared above, and its figures should not be mixed with the regular can figures.
What Is Not Disclosed or Still Uncertain in These Labels?
Several details are not disclosed in the label and brand information behind these figures. The brand materials do not explain the 180 vs 160 calorie difference. Confirm both on the can. Neither label discloses the specific flavor sources. Gluten-free status for either root beer is not stated, and no taste-test or sales data comparing the two brands is included here.
The evidence in this article is label-based. It shows what each manufacturer prints, not how each drink affects a particular person, and it cannot establish long-term effects of regular consumption.
Scan the Labels Yourself With Aurascan
Scan the can in your hand with the Aurascan app to read caramel color, sodium benzoate, caffeine and the other ingredients one at a time, with cited evidence for each.
Try Aurascan
See what is really in the food you buy.
Common questions
- Does Barq's Root Beer have caffeine?
- Yes. A 12 fl oz can of Barq's Root Beer lists 22 mg of caffeine, and caffeine is included in its ingredient list.
- Does A&W Root Beer have caffeine?
- No. The 12 fl oz can of A&W Root Beer is labeled caffeine free, and its ingredient list does not include caffeine. Other A&W products are outside the scope of this comparison.
- Does Barq's Root Beer have Red 40?
- The Barq's Root Beer ingredient list does not include Red 40. The separate Barq's Red Creme Soda does list Red 40, and it is a different product.
- Does A&W Root Beer have high fructose corn syrup?
- Yes. A&W Root Beer's ingredient list includes high fructose corn syrup, along with carbonated water, caramel color, sodium benzoate, natural and artificial flavors and quillaia extract.
- Does A&W Root Beer have phosphoric acid or citric acid?
- Its ingredient list does not contain phosphoric acid or citric acid. Barq's Root Beer does list citric acid.
- How much caffeine is too much for most adults?
- FDA cites 400 mg of caffeine a day as an amount not generally associated with negative effects for most healthy adults. Sensitivity varies widely, and people who are pregnant, trying to become pregnant or breastfeeding should ask a health care provider about limiting caffeine.
- Is Barq's Root Beer bad for you?
- This article does not rate either drink's healthfulness. It lists the label figures for caffeine, sugar, sodium and ingredients so you can compare them, and questions about your own diet are best raised with a health care provider.
Sources
- Barq's Root Beer brand page (coca-cola.com)
- A&W Root Beer, 12 fl oz Product Facts (kdpproductfacts.com)
- Barq's Root Beer 20 fl oz bottle label (barcode 0049000023923) (world.openfoodfacts.org)
- Spilling the Beans: How Much Caffeine Is Too Much? (fda.gov)
- Added Sugars on the Nutrition Facts Label (fda.gov)
- Daily Value on Nutrition and Supplement Facts Labels (fda.gov)
In this series
Guide
Sprite Zero vs Sprite: Does Sprite Zero Have Aspartame? 0 vs 38 gGuide
Dr Pepper vs Coke: Caffeine (41 vs 34 mg), Sugar and CaloriesGuide
Sprite vs 7UP: Sugar (38 g each), Sodium, Ingredients ComparedGuide
Coke vs Pepsi: Caffeine, Sugar and Ingredients ComparedGuide
Olipop vs Poppi: Fiber, Sugar and Sweeteners ComparedGuide
Dole Pineapple Juice vs Fanta Pineapple: 4 Ingredients vs 13
Related guides
Comparisons
Does Kikkoman Have Gluten? It Lists Wheat; La Choy Doesn'tKikkoman's ingredients include wheat; La Choy uses hydrolyzed soy protein and is labeled gluten free. Sodium per tbsp: 960 mg vs 1,330 mg. Full labels compared.
Comparisons
Which Has More Sugar, Jell-O or Snack Pack? 17 g vs 12 gJell-O lists 17 g added sugar and artificial color per 110 g cup; Snack Pack Chocolate lists 12 g per 92 g cup and no added color.
Comparisons
Does Prego Have Added Sugar? Yes, 4 g vs Ragú's <1 gPrego Traditional lists 4 g added sugar per 1/2 cup; Ragú Old World Style Traditional lists under 1 g. Sodium, oil and ingredient order compared.
Try it on your own groceries
Scan your next label with Aurascan
Point the camera at any ingredient list and get the same evidence-graded read you see here.
Open the scannerGet food recall alerts + a weekly digest
An email when a food recall is announced, plus one weekly roundup of label news and new guides.
We email a confirmation link first - nothing is sent until you click it. Unsubscribe anytime. Privacy