Comparisons · October 23, 2026 · 9 min read
GT's vs Health-Ade Kombucha: 12 g vs 19 g Sugar per Bottle?
GT's Synergy Trilogy vs Health-Ade Pink Lady Apple, 16 oz: 12 g vs 19 g sugar (3 g vs 14 g added), probiotic claims, caffeine, and the 0.5% alcohol line.
By Chris Carrillo · Reviewed by Armin Rad, Co-Founder & CTO, Aurascan · October 23, 2026
Every article is checked against primary sources before publication. How we review

The two 16 oz bottles differ most on sugar, calories, sodium, juice share, and how each brand states its probiotics and caffeine. Per bottle, GT's Synergy Trilogy lists 50 calories, 12 g total sugars (3 g added) and 10 mg sodium, while Health-Ade Pink Lady Apple lists 80 calories, 19 g total sugars (14 g added) and 0 mg sodium. Health-Ade's FAQ says its kombucha is under 0.5% alcohol by volume, and GT's page gives no alcohol figure.
Key takeaways
- Per 16 oz bottle, GT's Synergy Trilogy lists 50 calories, 12 g total sugars (3 g added) and 10 mg sodium. Health-Ade Pink Lady Apple lists 80 calories, 19 g total sugars (14 g added) and 0 mg sodium.
- GT's panel declares 3 g added sugars even though its footnote says cane sugar is used for fermentation, not as an added sweetener. Reading the footnote and the panel together matters.
- Stated probiotics at bottling differ in form: GT's lists three organisms totaling 9 billion, while Health-Ade states 1 billion CFU of Bacillus coagulans per bottle.
- Health-Ade's FAQ gives 5-15 mg of caffeine per serving. GT's page does not state caffeine, and this article does not fill that gap.
- Under TTB guidance, kombucha at 0.5% ABV or more at any point, including after bottling, is treated as an alcohol beverage. Neither brand discloses a measured ABV.
How do GT's Synergy Trilogy and Health-Ade Pink Lady Apple compare at a glance?
Both are 16 oz bottles with a serving size of one bottle, and both nutrition panels list 0 g total fat and 0 g protein. The table below shows only what GT's Trilogy page and Health-Ade's Pink Lady Apple page state for the 16 oz bottle.
| Label item (per 16 oz bottle) | GT's Synergy Trilogy | Health-Ade Pink Lady Apple |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 50 | 80 |
| Total fat | 0 g | 0 g |
| Sodium | 10 mg | 0 mg |
| Total carbohydrate | 12 g | 19 g |
| Total sugars | 12 g | 19 g |
| Added sugars (DV as printed) | 3 g (6%) | 14 g (28%) |
| Protein | 0 g | 0 g |
| Juice (as printed) | 5% | 9% |
| Probiotics stated at bottling | 1 billion + 4 billion + 4 billion (9 billion total, three organisms) | 1 billion CFU Bacillus coagulans |
| Caffeine | Not stated on brand page | 5-15 mg per serving (FAQ) |
| Alcohol by volume | No figure given | Under 0.5% (FAQ) |
Where a row says not stated or no figure given, the brand did not publish that number on the pages cited in this article. The table is a reading aid, not a ranking.
Which has more sugar: total sugars versus added sugars on each label?
How much sugar is in GT's Synergy Trilogy Kombucha per bottle?
GT's Synergy Trilogy 16 oz bottle lists 12 g total sugars per bottle, including 3 g added sugars, which the panel prints as 6% Daily Value (DV).
The FDA sets the added sugars Daily Value at 50 g per day, so the printed 6% reflects 3 g measured against that reference. Total sugars is a separate line that can include sugars that occur naturally in juice, while added sugars covers sugars added during processing.
GT's ingredient footnote says cane sugar is used for fermentation and is not an added sweetener, yet the same panel still declares 3 g of added sugars. Readers should note that conflict. The footnote explains the ingredient's role, and the panel is the figure printed for added sugars. The label does not reconcile the two in more detail.
How much sugar is in Health-Ade Pink Lady Apple Kombucha per bottle?
Health-Ade Pink Lady Apple lists 19 g total sugars per 16 oz bottle, including 14 g added sugars, printed as 28% DV. The front badge reads 14 grams added organic cane sugar, which matches the panel.
The ingredient list names cane sugar, apple juice concentrate, apple essence and raisin juice concentrate, so the added sugar comes from several sweetening and flavoring sources. For a wider look at how sugar and sweeteners differ across functional drinks, see Olipop vs Poppi: Fiber, Sugar and Sweeteners Compared.
What do the calories, sodium and juice percentages show on each nutrition panel?
The panels print 50 calories for GT's and 80 calories for Health-Ade, a difference of 30 calories per 16 oz bottle. Both panels report serving size as one bottle, so the per-bottle figures are the direct comparison.
Sodium is 10 mg on GT's panel and 0 mg on Health-Ade's. Both amounts are small, and the panels as cited do not show a sodium Daily Value percentage to compare.
The juice figures are printed on each label: 5% on GT's and 9% on Health-Ade. These percentages describe the juice share as declared by each brand. They do not describe the sugar content of the finished drink, which the total sugars line covers.
- Check the serving size line first; both of these panels use one bottle.
- Compare total sugars and added sugars on separate lines.
- Read the juice percentage as a declared share, not a sugar measurement.
Which ingredients are on each label, and what does the footnote on GT's panel mean?
GT's panel lists GT's Organic Raw Kombucha, raspberry juice, lemon juice and cold pressed ginger juice. The footnotes add that the kombucha culture is a 30-day ferment, and that black tea, green tea, kiwi juice and cane sugar are part of the ferment. The asterisk marks organically produced items, and the diamond footnote states that cane sugar is used for fermentation, not as an added sweetener.
Health-Ade's panel lists organic kombucha, apple juice concentrate, apple essence and live active cultures (Bacillus coagulans). Its organic kombucha line includes filtered water, acids from fermentation (acetic, lactic, gluconic and tartaric), cane sugar, apple juice, black tea, green tea, raisin juice concentrate, kombucha cultures and carbonation. The panel marks certified organic ingredients with a dagger.
Label-reading tips for both bottles:
- Look for symbols and footnotes that change how an ingredient should be read.
- Note whether a sweetener is described as an added sweetener or as a fermentation input.
- Check whether the live culture is named by species, and whether a strain is given.
How do the stated probiotics at bottling differ between GT's and Health-Ade?
GT's panel states, per bottle at time of bottling, Bacillus coagulans GBI-306086 at 1 billion organisms, S. boulardii at 4 billion organisms and Lactobacillus Bacterium at 4 billion organisms. That totals 9 billion organisms across three listed organisms. The same panel lists L(+) lactic acid at 100 mg, acetic acid at 75 mg, glucuronic acid at 1400 mg and gluconic acid at 650 mg. The Lactobacillus entry does not name a specific strain.
Health-Ade's product page states that every flavor contains 1 billion culture-forming units of live active cultures from Bacillus coagulans, at time of bottling. The panel lists Live Active Cultures (Bacillus Coagulans).
The two labels express culture content differently. GT's gives organism-by-organism counts and a total. Health-Ade gives a single count for one named species. Neither label states counts at the time of drinking or at the end of shelf life. Brand statements about what these cultures do for health are marketing claims.
Is caffeine listed on each label, and what does Health-Ade's FAQ say?
How much caffeine is in Health-Ade kombucha per serving?
Health-Ade's product page states that its kombucha has between 5-15 mg of caffeine per serving, which it compares to the amount in a cup of decaf coffee. The figure is a range given by the brand, not a single measured value for each bottle.
For context, the FDA cites 400 mg of caffeine per day as an amount not generally associated with negative effects for most healthy adults. That is general guidance, not a limit for any individual, and it does not account for sensitivity, medications or pregnancy.
For caffeine figures on other sodas, see Dr Pepper vs Coke: Caffeine (41 vs 34 mg), Sugar and Calories.
Is caffeine stated for GT's Synergy Trilogy Kombucha?
Caffeine content for GT's Synergy Trilogy is not stated on its brand page, so this article cannot give a number for that bottle. The ingredient panel does list black tea and green tea, which are typical sources of caffeine, but the panel does not state an amount. Readers who need a figure should look for it on the current packaging or ask the brand directly.
Does either kombucha count as an alcoholic beverage under TTB guidance?
TTB's kombucha guidance treats kombucha as an alcohol beverage subject to TTB regulations if its alcohol content is 0.5% ABV or more at any time during production, when bottled, or at any time after bottling. Kombucha that is never at or above that level remains under FDA food rules. A product that is under 0.5% at bottling but rises to 0.5% or more through continued fermentation in the bottle is also covered by TTB rules.
The federal definition in 27 CFR 16.10, used for alcohol health-warning rules, describes an alcoholic beverage as any beverage containing not less than one-half of one percent alcohol by volume.
Does Health-Ade kombucha have alcohol?
Health-Ade's FAQ says its kombucha is under 0.5% alcohol by volume, which it describes as non-alcoholic, and it notes that all kombucha has trace amounts of alcohol. No measured ABV result for a specific bottle is disclosed. Because the TTB threshold also applies if a bottle reaches 0.5% after bottling, the brand's statement describes the product as labeled rather than settling the question for every bottle over time.
Does GT's kombucha have alcohol?
GT's page does not give an ABV figure for the Synergy Trilogy 16 oz bottle. Its FAQ says the Synergy Raw Kombucha is naturally fermented for 30 days and that alcohol is created during fermentation as nature's defense against contamination. Without a published figure, readers cannot tell from the label alone whether the bottle sits under or over the 0.5% line.
What do the labels leave undisclosed, and how can shoppers check a bottle themselves?
The labels and pages cited here leave several points open:
- Measured ABV for either product.
- Caffeine content for GT's Synergy Trilogy.
- Live culture counts at the time of drinking or at the end of shelf life, since both brands state counts only at bottling.
- Whether GT's Lactobacillus entry refers to a specific named strain.
- Clinical benefit of either product.
To read a bottle yourself, start with the serving size line, then compare total sugars and added sugars on separate rows. Check whether a value is marked at time of bottling. Look for the ABV statement, and note any storage advice. Health-Ade recommends refrigeration for taste and quality and says its kombucha is safe at room temperature in transit because of its low pH. GT's Synergy Trilogy is also sold in 10 oz and 48 oz sizes, and the per-bottle values here apply only to the 16 oz bottle.
These labels cannot show how an individual body responds to either drink, how contents change over a bottle's storage life, or how either product affects groups such as children, pregnant people or people managing caffeine sensitivity.
To check a bottle yourself, scan its barcode with the Aurascan app and read each ingredient next to the Nutrition Facts panel.
Try Aurascan
See what is really in the food you buy.
Common questions
- How much sugar is in GT's Synergy Trilogy Kombucha 16 oz?
- The 16 oz bottle lists 12 g total sugars per bottle, including 3 g added sugars, printed as 6% Daily Value. The panel's footnote says cane sugar is used for fermentation rather than as an added sweetener.
- How much sugar is in Health-Ade Pink Lady Apple Kombucha 16 oz?
- The 16 oz bottle lists 19 g total sugars per bottle, including 14 g added sugars, printed as 28% Daily Value. The badge reads 14 grams added organic cane sugar.
- How much caffeine is in Health-Ade kombucha?
- Health-Ade's FAQ states 5-15 mg of caffeine per serving, which it compares to a cup of decaf coffee. GT's Synergy Trilogy caffeine is not stated on its brand page.
- Does Health-Ade kombucha have alcohol?
- Health-Ade's FAQ says its kombucha is under 0.5% alcohol by volume and describes it as non-alcoholic. No measured ABV result for a specific bottle is disclosed.
- Does GT's kombucha have alcohol?
- GT's page does not give an ABV figure for the Synergy Trilogy 16 oz bottle. Its FAQ says alcohol is created during the 30-day fermentation as nature's defense against contamination.
- What does the TTB say about kombucha and alcohol content?
- TTB treats kombucha as an alcohol beverage if it is 0.5% ABV or more at any time during production, at bottling, or after bottling. Kombucha that never reaches that level falls under FDA food rules.
- How many probiotics are in GT's Synergy Trilogy per bottle?
- At time of bottling, the panel lists three organisms totaling 9 billion: 1 billion Bacillus coagulans, 4 billion S. boulardii and 4 billion Lactobacillus. Counts at drinking or end of shelf life are not disclosed.
Sources
- Kombucha | Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau (TTB) (ttb.gov)
- 27 CFR 16.10 Alcoholic Beverage Labeling Act health warning definitions (ecfr.gov)
- Added Sugars on the Nutrition Facts Label | FDA (fda.gov)
- Spilling the Beans: How Much Caffeine is Too Much? | FDA (fda.gov)
- GT's Synergy Kombucha Trilogy product page (gtslivingfoods.com)
- Health-Ade Kombucha, Pink Lady Apple product page (health-ade.com)
- Health-Ade frequently asked questions (health-ade.com)
In this series
Guide
A&W vs Barq's: Does Barq's Have Caffeine? Yes, 22 mgGuide
Sprite Zero vs Sprite: Does Sprite Zero Have Aspartame? 0 vs 38 gGuide
Dr Pepper vs Coke: Caffeine (41 vs 34 mg), Sugar and CaloriesGuide
Sprite vs 7UP: Sugar (38 g each), Sodium, Ingredients ComparedGuide
Coke vs Pepsi: Caffeine, Sugar and Ingredients ComparedGuide
Olipop vs Poppi: Fiber, Sugar and Sweeteners Compared
Related guides
Comparisons
Which Has More Sodium, Frank's or Tabasco? 190 vs 35 mgPer 1 tsp, Frank's RedHot Original lists 190 mg sodium (8% DV) and Tabasco Original Red lists 35 mg. Ingredients, heat and what the %DV means, compared.
Comparisons
What's in Bush's vs B&M Baked Beans? 570 vs 390mg SodiumBush's Original lists brown sugar and cured bacon; B&M Original uses sugar, molasses and pork fat. Both 11g added sugar per 1/2 cup; sodium 570mg vs 390mg.
Comparisons
Aurascan vs Bobby Approved: Pass/Fail or Per-Ingredient Verdicts?Bobby Approved gives each product one approved or not-approved verdict from its creator's rules; Aurascan rates each ingredient Clean, Mixed or Flagged, with sources.
Try it on your own groceries
Scan your next label with Aurascan
Point the camera at any ingredient list and get the same evidence-graded read you see here.
Open the scannerGet food recall alerts + a weekly digest
An email when a food recall is announced, plus one weekly roundup of label news and new guides.
We email a confirmation link first - nothing is sent until you click it. Unsubscribe anytime. Privacy