Comparisons · October 14, 2026 · 7 min read
Zevia vs Diet Coke: Stevia vs Aspartame, 45 vs 46 mg Caffeine
Zevia Cola is sweetened only with stevia; Diet Coke uses aspartame. Both have 0 calories, and caffeine is 45 mg vs 46 mg per 12 oz can. Labels compared.
By Chris Carrillo · Reviewed by Armin Rad, Co-Founder & CTO, Aurascan · October 14, 2026
Every article is checked against primary sources before publication. How we review

Zevia Cola and Diet Coke are both listed at 0 calories and 0 g sugar per can, and their caffeine is close: 45 mg in Zevia Cola (per Open Food Facts) and 46 mg in Diet Coke (per the brand) per 12 fl oz (355 ml) can. The main label difference is the sweetener. Zevia Cola is sweetened with stevia extract, while Diet Coke lists aspartame.
Key takeaways
- Both cans are listed at 0 calories, 0 g fat, 0 g carbohydrates, 0 g total sugars and 0 g added sugars per can.
- Caffeine is 45 mg for Zevia Cola (Open Food Facts) and 46 mg for Diet Coke (brand) per 12 fl oz / 355 ml can, a 1 mg difference.
- Zevia Cola lists 6 ingredients in label order and Diet Coke lists 8. Diet Coke's list adds caramel color, phosphoric acid, potassium benzoate and aspartame, while Zevia Cola's list includes stevia extract and tartaric acid.
- Diet Coke carries the label statement 'PHENYLKETONURICS: CONTAINS PHENYLALANINE'. The Zevia Cola information available here does not include a phenylketonuria statement.
- FDA says its scientists do not have safety concerns with aspartame under approved conditions, per its aspartame and other sweeteners page.
Zevia Cola vs Diet Coke at a Glance: Calories, Caffeine, Sweetener, Ingredients
Both drinks are listed at 0 calories per 12 fl oz (355 ml) can. The table below compares the label items that are available for each product.
| Label item | Zevia Cola | Diet Coke |
|---|---|---|
| Serving size | 1 can (355 ml), per Open Food Facts. Same volume as the Diet Coke can. | 12 fl oz can (355 ml), per brand. Same volume as the Zevia Cola can. |
| Calories | 0 | 0 |
| Total fat | 0 g | 0 g |
| Total carbohydrates | 0 g | 0 g |
| Total sugars and added sugars | 0 g and 0 g | 0 g and 0 g |
| Protein | 0 g | 0 g |
| Sodium | Not disclosed for Zevia Cola per can | 40 mg (2% DV) |
| Caffeine | 45 mg per can (Open Food Facts) | 46 mg per 12 fl oz (brand) |
| Sweetener | Stevia extract | Aspartame |
| Ingredients listed | 6 | 8 |
The differences are in sodium, sweetener, caffeine figure, acids, color and listed ingredient count.
Does Zevia Cola Have Aspartame? Stevia vs Aspartame Explained
No. Zevia Cola's label lists stevia extract and no aspartame, with 0 g sugar per 1 can (355 ml). The sweetener on the Zevia Cola product page is Stevia Extract, and the brand FAQ states that Zevia products are 'solely sweetened by highly purified stevia extract.'
Neither label discloses how much stevia extract is in a Zevia can, or how much aspartame is in a Diet Coke can. Without those amounts, the labels cannot be used to compare sweetener doses directly.
For more background on the sweetener itself, see the aspartame ingredient review.
Scan preview

Diet Coke
Diet Coke Can, 12 Fl Oz
CARAMEL COLOR · ASPARTAME · NATURAL FLAVORS
Standout ingredient: CAFFEINE
Analysis by Aurascan. The app shows the full breakdown and its sources.
How Much Caffeine Is in Zevia Cola vs Diet Coke Per 12 Oz Can?
Zevia Cola has 45 mg per 1 can (355 ml) per Open Food Facts, and Diet Coke has 46 mg per 12 fl oz (355 ml) can per the Diet Coke product page, a 1 mg difference. Coca-Cola's FAQ states the same 46 mg figure for Diet Coke.
Zevia's brand page does not print a caffeine milligram figure. Its FAQ says caffeine amounts are 'listed on each can,' so the 45 mg value comes from the Open Food Facts label data rather than from the brand website.
For context, the FDA says 400 milligrams of caffeine a day is, for most adults, an amount not generally associated with negative effects. The 400 mg figure is a total daily intake guideline across all sources, not a per-can limit.
How Many Calories Are in Zevia Cola vs Diet Coke?
Zevia Cola is listed at 0 kcal per 1 can (355 ml); Diet Coke is listed at 0 calories per 12 fl oz (355 ml) can. Both labels also show 0 g fat, 0 g carbohydrates, 0 g total sugars, 0 g added sugars and 0 g protein.
Readers who drink more than one can, or who use a different container size, should check the Nutrition Facts panel on their own product.
Does Zevia Cola Have Erythritol or Other Bulking Agents?
Zevia Cola does not contain erythritol according to the brand. The product page says 'Does not contain Erythritol,' and the brand FAQ says Zevia 'does not contain any bulking agents such as erythritol.'
The Diet Coke ingredient list in label order does not include erythritol or a separate bulking agent. Its listed items are carbonated water, caramel color, aspartame, phosphoric acid, potassium benzoate (to protect taste), natural flavors, citric acid and caffeine.
If erythritol matters to you, look for it in the ingredient list of any product you scan, since formulas can change over time.
Zevia Ingredients vs Diet Coke Ingredients: Full Label Comparison in Order
Zevia Cola's ingredients, in label order, are carbonated water, natural flavors, stevia extract, tartaric acid, caffeine and citric acid. Open Food Facts records the stevia item as stevia leaf extract and the acid as tartaric acid.
Diet Coke's ingredients, in label order, are carbonated water, caramel color, aspartame, phosphoric acid, potassium benzoate (to protect taste), natural flavors, citric acid and caffeine.
The differences are concrete:
- Zevia Cola has no caramel color.
- Zevia Cola has no phosphoric acid. It uses tartaric acid and citric acid as acids.
- Zevia Cola has no potassium benzoate.
- Zevia Cola has no aspartame, and Diet Coke has no stevia.
- Both products list natural flavors and caffeine, but neither label discloses the composition of its natural flavors.
For a broader look at how these labels are structured, see the 5 sodas people scan most, which covers sweeteners, acids and colors.
Is Stevia in Zevia Cola Safe? What FDA Says About Steviol Glycosides
The FDA states that it has no questions about GRAS conclusions for certain steviol glycosides obtained from the leaves of the stevia plant. This is a regulatory statement about the ingredient class, not a finding about any individual drink.
The Zevia label does not disclose the amount of stevia extract per can.
Is Aspartame in Diet Coke Safe? What FDA Says
The FDA describes aspartame as about 200 times sweeter than table sugar. The FDA says its scientists do not have safety concerns with aspartame when it is used under approved conditions. The same FDA page says people with phenylketonuria should avoid or restrict aspartame.
Who Should Check the Label? Phenylketonuria, Caffeine and Sensitivities
The most specific label flag in this comparison is the Diet Coke statement 'PHENYLKETONURICS: CONTAINS PHENYLALANINE.' FDA guidance says people with phenylketonuria should avoid or restrict aspartame. Readers with PKU or who care for someone with PKU should confirm guidance with their own clinician, because this article cannot assess individual medical needs.
Caffeine is listed in both drinks at similar levels. People who are sensitive to caffeine, or who are limiting it for personal reasons, may want to count all sources across the day, not just one can.
Some people choose products based on sweetener preferences, acids or colors. Those choices are personal, and the label is the place to check what is in the drink.
How to Spot Stevia, Aspartame and Caffeine on a Soda Can Label
Use these checks on any diet soda label:
- Scan the ingredient list in order. Items listed earlier are present in larger amounts.
- Look for sweetener names such as aspartame, stevia extract, steviol glycosides or rebaudioside.
- Check for the phenylketonuria statement if it applies to you.
- Find the caffeine figure on the can or in the brand FAQ, since some brands print it only on packaging.
- Compare the serving size before comparing calories or milligrams.
- Note sodium, which may be listed on one brand and absent from another database record.
When a value is missing from the label or database, treat it as not disclosed rather than assuming a number.
Which Other Diet Sodas Compare to Zevia Cola and Diet Coke?
If you are comparing more products in this category, these side-by-side guides cover related labels:
- Diet Coke vs Diet Dr Pepper caffeine and aspartame comparison
- Coke Zero vs Diet Coke ingredients, taste and caffeine
Each comparison uses the same approach as this one: label facts first, with the evidence and its limits stated plainly.
Scan your next label with the Aurascan app, a food-label scanner for iPhone that explains each ingredient one by one with cited evidence.
Try Aurascan
See what is really in the food you buy.
Common questions
- Does Zevia Cola have aspartame?
- No. Zevia Cola's label lists stevia extract as its sweetener, and the brand says its products are solely sweetened by highly purified stevia extract. Diet Coke lists aspartame.
- How much caffeine is in Zevia Cola vs Diet Coke?
- Zevia Cola has 45 mg of caffeine per 1 can (355 ml) according to Open Food Facts, and Diet Coke has 46 mg per 12 fl oz can according to the brand. Zevia's brand page does not print a caffeine milligram figure.
- How many calories are in Zevia Cola?
- Zevia Cola is listed at 0 kcal per 1 can (355 ml) in the Open Food Facts record. Diet Coke is also listed at 0 calories per 12 fl oz can.
- Does Zevia Cola have erythritol?
- No. The Zevia Cola product page says it does not contain erythritol, and the brand FAQ says Zevia does not use bulking agents such as erythritol.
- Is there a phenylketonuria warning on Diet Coke?
- Yes. The Diet Coke label carries the statement 'PHENYLKETONURICS: CONTAINS PHENYLALANINE.' FDA says people with phenylketonuria should avoid or restrict aspartame.
- What is the difference between Zevia Cola and Diet Coke ingredients?
- Zevia Cola lists 6 ingredients and Diet Coke lists 8. Zevia has no caramel color, phosphoric acid, potassium benzoate or aspartame, and Diet Coke has no stevia.
- Is stevia in Zevia Cola safe according to the FDA?
- The FDA says it has no questions about GRAS conclusions for certain steviol glycosides obtained from the leaves of the stevia plant. The FDA statement is about the ingredient class, and the amount of stevia extract per Zevia can is not disclosed.
Sources
- Aspartame and Other Sweeteners in Food (fda.gov)
- Spilling the Beans: How Much Caffeine Is Too Much? (fda.gov)
- Zevia Cola | Zero Sugar, Zero Calories (zevia.com)
- Diet Coke Flavors, Nutrition Facts, Caffeine and More (coca-cola.com)
In this series
Guide
Diet Coke vs Diet Dr Pepper: Caffeine (46 vs 41 mg), AspartameGuide
Coke Zero vs Coca-Cola: Ingredients, Sugar (0 vs 39 g), CaffeineGuide
Dr Pepper Zero Sugar vs Coke Zero: Caffeine (41 vs 34 mg)Guide
Sprite vs Fresca: Sugar, Sweeteners and PreservativesGuide
The 5 Sodas People Scan Most: Sweeteners, Acids and ColorsGuide
Mountain Dew Zero Sugar vs Diet: Caffeine (68 vs 54 mg), Sweeteners
Related guides
Comparisons
Is Outshine Healthier Than Popsicle? 12g Sugar vs AspartameOutshine Strawberry lists 12 g added sugar per bar and no low-calorie sweeteners; Popsicle Orange Cherry Grape uses aspartame and ace-K, 0 g sugar.
Comparisons
Which Has More Fiber, Metamucil or Benefiber? 6 g EachBoth labels list 6 g fiber per serving. Metamucil is psyllium (5 g soluble) with aspartame or 16 g sugar plus Yellow 6; Benefiber is just wheat dextrin (6 g soluble).
Comparisons
Which Has More Sugar, Jell-O or Snack Pack? 17 g vs 12 gJell-O lists 17 g added sugar and artificial color per 110 g cup; Snack Pack Chocolate lists 12 g per 92 g cup and no added color.
Try it on your own groceries
Scan your next label with Aurascan
Point the camera at any ingredient list and get the same evidence-graded read you see here.
Open the scannerGet food recall alerts + a weekly digest
An email when a food recall is announced, plus one weekly roundup of label news and new guides.
We email a confirmation link first - nothing is sent until you click it. Unsubscribe anytime. Privacy