Comparisons · October 30, 2026 · 8 min read
Is Violife Healthier Than Daiya? 6 g vs 4 g Sat Fat
Per 1/4 cup, Violife mozzarella shreds have 6 g saturated fat and 0 g protein; Daiya's oat-based shreds have 4 g and 1 g, plus 311 mg calcium. Labels compared.
By Chris Carrillo · Reviewed by Armin Rad, Co-Founder & CTO, Aurascan · October 30, 2026
Every article is checked against primary sources before publication. How we review

TL;DR: On the label panels, Daiya Dairy-Free Mozzarella Shreds list less saturated fat (4 g vs 6 g per 1/4 cup) and more calcium (311 mg vs 130 mg). Violife is the only one of the two to list vitamin B12 (0.7 mcg, 30% DV). Sodium is nearly identical (240 mg vs 250 mg). Serving weights differ (30 g vs 28 g), so the per-serving numbers do not describe identical portions. These values come from label panels that may have changed, so the package in your hand is the final check.
Key takeaways
- Daiya (1/4 cup, 30 g): 4 g saturated fat (20% DV), 240 mg sodium (10% DV), 311 mg calcium (25% DV).
- Violife (1/4 cup, 28 g): 6 g saturated fat (30% DV), 250 mg sodium (11% DV), 130 mg calcium (10% DV).
- Only Violife lists vitamin B12 on its panel (0.7 mcg, 30% DV).
- Coconut oil is ingredient 2 in Violife and ingredient 3 in Daiya. Both list a sugar: dextrose in Daiya and glucose in Violife. Violife's added sugars are not disclosed.
What Are the Nutrition Facts for Daiya vs Violife Mozzarella Shreds at a Glance?
Per 1/4 cup, Daiya lists 90 calories and Violife lists 100 calories, although the two panels use different serving weights. The table lists each value as printed on the Daiya Dairy-Free Mozzarella Shreds and Violife Just Like Mozzarella Shreds product pages. Not disclosed means the brand page did not provide that value.
| Nutrient (per 1/4 cup) | Daiya Dairy-Free Mozzarella Shreds | Violife Just Like Mozzarella Shreds |
|---|---|---|
| Serving weight | 30 g | 28 g |
| Servings per container | About 7 | 8 |
| Calories | 90 | 100 |
| Total fat | 6 g (8% DV) | 7 g (9% DV) |
| Saturated fat | 4 g (20% DV) | 6 g (30% DV) |
| Trans fat | 0 g | Not disclosed |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg | 0 mg |
| Sodium | 240 mg (10% DV) | 250 mg (11% DV) |
| Total carbohydrate | 8 g (3% DV) | 7 g (3% DV) |
| Dietary fiber | 0 g | Not disclosed |
| Total sugars | 1 g | Not disclosed |
| Added sugars | 1 g (2% DV) | Not disclosed |
| Protein | 1 g | 0 g |
| Calcium | 311 mg (25% DV) | 130 mg (10% DV) |
| Vitamin B12 | Not listed on panel | 0.7 mcg (30% DV) |
| Vitamin D | 0 mcg | Not disclosed |
| Iron | 0 mg | Not disclosed |
| Potassium | 13 mg (0% DV) | Not disclosed |
Daiya's panel lists 0 mcg vitamin D and 0 mg iron. These are label values, reported here as printed. The Not disclosed entries for Violife mean the brand page did not give those values, so they should not be read as zero.
Saturated Fat per Serving: Daiya vs Violife
Violife Just Like Mozzarella Shreds lists more saturated fat per serving, at 6 g (30% DV) per 1/4 cup (28 g). Daiya Dairy-Free Mozzarella Shreds lists 4 g (20% DV) per 1/4 cup (30 g).
Under FDA's general guide, 5% DV or less is low and 20% DV or more is high. By that guide, both products fall in the high range for saturated fat.
The panels do not show how much of the saturated fat comes from each ingredient. Violife lists coconut oil as ingredient 2, while Daiya lists it as ingredient 3, after the oat cream blend and tapioca starch. The per-ingredient split is not disclosed.
These values describe the label only. They do not show how any one person responds to dietary saturated fat, and this comparison does not include health outcome data for these two products.
Sodium per Serving: Daiya vs Violife
Violife lists slightly more sodium, at 250 mg (11% DV) per 1/4 cup (28 g). Daiya lists 240 mg (10% DV) per 1/4 cup (30 g), a difference of 10 mg on these panels.
Both values sit between FDA's 5% DV low threshold and its 20% DV high threshold. The ingredient wording differs: Daiya lists salt among its less-than-2% ingredients, while Violife lists seasalt. Neither panel breaks its sodium down by ingredient.
If you compare sodium across other pantry items, the Pacific vs Swanson Chicken Broth: 530mg vs 860mg Sodium comparison uses the same panel-reading approach.
How Much Calcium Is in Daiya vs Violife Mozzarella Shreds per Serving?
Daiya lists 311 mg calcium (25% DV) per 1/4 cup (30 g), and Violife lists 130 mg (10% DV) per 1/4 cup (28 g). The calcium difference is 181 mg per serving on the panels.
Under FDA's general guide, 20% DV or more is high, so Daiya's 25% DV falls in the high range. Violife's 10% DV falls between the low and high thresholds.
Both ingredient lists name calcium phosphate, but the panels do not show how much of each product's calcium comes from it or from other ingredients. How the body absorbs calcium from either product is not disclosed.
Is Vitamin B12 Listed on Daiya or Violife Mozzarella Shreds?
Yes, Violife lists vitamin B12 at 0.7 mcg (30% DV) per 1/4 cup (28 g). Daiya's Nutrition Facts panel lists no vitamin B12.
Vitamin B12 appears in Violife's ingredient list as well as its panel. Daiya's panel shows no B12 entry. Under FDA's Daily Value labeling rules, vitamins other than vitamin D, calcium, iron and potassium may be listed voluntarily but must be listed when they are added to a food.
A single label entry does not show how much B12 a person absorbs from a given food. This comparison does not measure B12 absorption from either product.
What Starches Are Used in Daiya vs Violife Mozzarella Shreds?
Daiya lists tapioca starch and corn starch, while Violife lists modified tapioca and potato starch and potato starch.
In Daiya, tapioca starch is the second ingredient, after the Oat Cream blend, and corn starch appears later in the list. In Violife, the starches are ingredients 3 and 4, after water and coconut oil. Daiya also lists konjac flour and xanthan gum among its less-than-2% ingredients.
The Violife label does not say how its starches were modified. The health effects of coconut oil or modified starch in these products are not covered here, so the label entries are the only information in this comparison.
What Additives Appear on the Daiya vs Violife Mozzarella Shreds Label?
Daiya's additive-type entries include xanthan gum, lactic acid, dextrose, fruit juice (for color), yeast extract and konjac flour. Violife's include calcium phosphate, glucono delta-lactone, citric acid, beta carotene (color), olive extract, rowanberry extract (to help maintain freshness) and powdered cellulose (added to prevent caking).
Both labels list natural flavors, and the panels do not disclose what natural flavors contain in either product. Dextrose in Daiya and glucose in Violife are sugars named in the ingredient lists. Daiya's panel shows 1 g added sugars (2% DV) per 1/4 cup, while Violife's added sugars are not disclosed.
This article makes no claim about how these additives affect health. It reports only what the labels name.
Why Do the Serving Sizes Differ Between Daiya and Violife Shreds?
Daiya uses a 1/4 cup serving weighing 30 g, and Violife uses a 1/4 cup serving weighing 28 g. The per-serving numbers therefore do not describe identical portions.
The servings per container also differ. Daiya's 7.1 oz (200 g) package, label code PB-00320US, has about 7 servings, and Violife lists 8 servings per container.
To compare fairly, use the gram weights on each panel rather than the cup measure alone. A cup can represent different weights across products, and every %DV figure on a panel depends on its stated serving size.
How Can You Compare Dairy-Free Shreds Labels Yourself?
To compare two dairy-free shred labels, start with the serving weight in grams, then check saturated fat and sodium %DV, the calcium and vitamin B12 lines, and the ingredient order.
- Confirm the serving weight in grams, since a cup measure can represent different weights.
- Compare saturated fat and sodium %DV, using FDA's lows and highs guide, where 5% DV or less is low and 20% DV or more is high.
- Check the calcium and vitamin B12 lines, and note any fields the brand does not disclose.
- Read the ingredient order, including where coconut oil and starches appear.
- Find the sugar named in the ingredients, such as dextrose or glucose, and check whether added sugars are listed.
- Confirm free-from and certification claims on the current package.
How to Understand and Use the Nutrition Facts Label from FDA explains each line of the panel. Labels change, so check the package you buy, or scan both labels with the Aurascan app.
Which Related Cheese and Label Comparisons Cover Similar Factors?
Several related comparisons look at the same kinds of label factors, such as gums, calories and sodium, in other foods.
- Does Daisy Cottage Cheese Have Gums? No, Nor Does Good Culture looks at gums in another dairy product.
- Is Frigo Healthier Than Sargento? 80 vs 90 Cal per Stick compares calories across two cheese snacks.
Try Aurascan
See what is really in the food you buy.
Common questions
- Is Violife healthier than Daiya?
- This article does not declare either product healthier. Per 1/4 cup, Violife lists 6 g saturated fat (30% DV) and 130 mg calcium (10% DV), while Daiya lists 4 g saturated fat (20% DV) and 311 mg calcium (25% DV). Readers can weigh those values themselves.
- What is Daiya cheese made of?
- Daiya Dairy-Free Mozzarella Shreds list the Daiya Oat Cream blend first (water, gluten-free oat flour, pea protein, cultures, enzymes), followed by tapioca starch, coconut oil, corn starch and expeller pressed safflower oil. The panel also lists calcium phosphate and less-than-2% ingredients including konjac flour, dextrose and xanthan gum.
- Does Violife have protein?
- Violife Just Like Mozzarella Shreds list 0 g protein per 1/4 cup (28 g), while Daiya lists 1 g protein per 1/4 cup (30 g). Violife's ingredient list includes lentil protein, but the panel value is still 0 g.
- Which vegan cheese melts best?
- Melting performance is not shown on either label, so this comparison cannot say which shred melts best. The label values do not measure melting or stretch.
- Does Violife contain vitamin B12?
- Yes, Violife lists vitamin B12 at 0.7 mcg (30% DV) per 1/4 cup (28 g), and vitamin B12 appears in its ingredient list. Daiya's Nutrition Facts panel lists no vitamin B12.
- Are Daiya and Violife mozzarella shreds dairy-free?
- Both products are labeled dairy-free. Daiya lists dairy and gluten as its free-from claims, and Violife states it is free from dairy, soy, gluten, lactose and nuts, and is certified by the Vegan Society.
- How much added sugar is in Daiya Dairy-Free Mozzarella Shreds?
- Daiya's panel lists 1 g added sugars (2% DV) per 1/4 cup (30 g), with 1 g total sugars. Violife's added sugars are not disclosed, although its ingredient list includes glucose.
Sources
- Daiya Dairy-Free Mozzarella Shreds (daiyafoods.com)
- Just Like Mozzarella Shreds: Dairy Free and Vegan (violife.com)
- Lows and Highs of the Percent Daily Value on the Nutrition Facts Label (fda.gov)
- Daily Value on the Nutrition and Supplement Facts Labels (fda.gov)
- How to Understand and Use the Nutrition Facts Label (fda.gov)
- Sodium in Your Diet (fda.gov)
In this series
Guide
Doctor's Best vs Nature Made Magnesium: Both 200 mgGuide
Does Nutpods Have Carrageenan? No. Nutpods vs CalifiaGuide
Ore-Ida vs McCain Extra Crispy Crinkles: 160 vs 120 CalGuide
Is Frigo Healthier Than Sargento? 80 vs 90 Cal per StickGuide
Pacific vs Swanson Chicken Broth: 530mg vs 860mg SodiumGuide
Optimum Nutrition vs Premier Protein Powder: 24 g or 30 g?
Related guides
Comparisons
Yuka vs Open Food Facts: Scores, Data and Price ComparedYuka scores food 0-100 (60% nutrition, 30% additives, 10% organic) with a paid tier; Open Food Facts is a free, open, volunteer-built database with Nutri-Score and NOVA.
Comparisons
Doctor's Best vs Nature Made Magnesium: Both 200 mgBoth list 200 mg magnesium (48% DV) per 2-unit serving. Doctor's Best uses a lysinate glycinate chelate; Nature Made lists bisglycinate. Labels compared.
Comparisons
Does Nutpods Have Carrageenan? No. Nutpods vs CalifiaNeither lists carrageenan. Nutpods Original uses acacia and gellan gum; Califia Unsweetened Almond Creamer lists no gums or oils; Califia oat has sunflower oil.
Try it on your own groceries
Scan your next label with Aurascan
Point the camera at any ingredient list and get the same evidence-graded read you see here.
Open the scannerGet food recall alerts + a weekly digest
An email when a food recall is announced, plus one weekly roundup of label news and new guides.
We email a confirmation link first - nothing is sent until you click it. Unsubscribe anytime. Privacy