Aurascan

Comparisons · October 30, 2026 · 8 min read

Does Milton's Have More Sodium Than Caulipower? Yes, 870 mg

Per half pizza, Milton's Margherita Four Cheese has 870 mg sodium and 20 g protein; Caulipower Margherita has 590 mg and 13 g. Both crusts use rice flour.

By Chris Carrillo · Reviewed by Armin Rad, Co-Founder & CTO, Aurascan · October 30, 2026

Every article is checked against primary sources before publication. How we review

Illustration of Two round pizza crusts beside a whole cauliflower head on a wooden board

Yes. Per half pizza, Milton's Margherita Four Cheese lists 870 mg sodium (38% DV) and Caulipower Margherita lists 590 mg (26% DV), a 280 mg gap. Milton's also lists more protein and calcium, while Caulipower lists less saturated fat and more carbohydrate and fiber.

Per half pizza, Caulipower Margherita lists 590 mg sodium and 5 g saturated fat, while Milton's Four Cheese lists 870 mg sodium, 9 g saturated fat, and 20 g protein versus Caulipower's 13 g. Neither label gives a cauliflower percentage or a rice flour share.

At a glance, per half pizza

Per half pizzaCaulipower MargheritaMilton's Four Cheese
Calories370360
Sodium590 mg (26% DV)870 mg (38% DV)
Saturated fat5 g (25% DV)9 g (45% DV)
Protein13 g (25% DV)20 g (no DV shown)
Total carbohydrate47 g (17% DV)33 g (12% DV)
Fiber3 g (11% DV)2 g (7% DV)
Calcium289 mg (20% DV)623 mg (50% DV)
Serving weight168 g156 g

Key takeaways

  • Both labels list cauliflower first in the crust, but neither gives a cauliflower percentage.
  • Caulipower's crust lists brown rice flour and white rice flour, plus corn starch and tapioca starch. Milton's crust lists rice flour, tapioca starch, rice starch, and modified rice starch. Neither label discloses a rice flour share.
  • Per half pizza, Milton's lists 870 mg sodium versus 590 mg for Caulipower.
  • Per half pizza, Caulipower lists 13 g protein and 5 g saturated fat, while Milton's lists 20 g protein and 9 g saturated fat.

What does the label say about how much of each crust is cauliflower?

Neither label states what percentage of its crust is cauliflower. Both list cauliflower as the first crust ingredient.

Ingredients are listed by weight, so cauliflower is the largest single crust ingredient in each, but the label does not say how large that share is. Milton's crust lists mozzarella cheese second, and Caulipower's lists brown rice flour second.

Is cauliflower crust pizza actually made of cauliflower?

Yes, cauliflower is the first crust ingredient in both products, but neither label gives a percentage. The label alone cannot show whether cauliflower makes up most of the crust by weight.

The rest of each crust is a blend. Caulipower's crust adds rice flours, corn starch, tapioca starch, and oil, while Milton's crust adds mozzarella cheese, rice flour, and several starches.

How much rice flour and starch is in each crust, and what does the label show?

Caulipower's crust lists brown rice flour and white rice flour. Milton's crust lists rice flour, plus brown rice flour in its under-2% group. Neither label gives the share of any rice flour in either crust.

  • Caulipower crust, in listed order: cauliflower, brown rice flour, white rice flour, water, corn starch, tapioca starch, vegetable oil (the specific oil in a given batch is not disclosed), egg, baking powder, xanthan gum, sugar, yeast, vinegar, salt.
  • Milton's crust, in listed order: cauliflower, low moisture mozzarella cheese, rice flour, tapioca starch, rice starch, egg whites, modified rice starch, yeast, then less than 2% each of cane sugar, salt, cultured brown rice, garlic powder, spices, xanthan gum, brown rice flour, citric acid, and lactic acid.

Caulipower's crust lists two rice flours and two starches before its oil. Milton's crust lists rice flour and two rice starches early in the list, and no added oil appears in its crust ingredients.

How much sodium is in one half pizza of each product?

One half of Caulipower Margherita lists 590 mg sodium, which is 26% of the Daily Value. One half of Milton's Four Cheese lists 870 mg, which is 38% of the Daily Value. Per full container, which holds two servings, the figures are 1180 mg for Caulipower (51% DV) and 1740 mg for Milton's (76% DV). Per half pizza, Milton's is 280 mg higher than Caulipower.

The FDA Daily Value for sodium is less than 2,300 mg per day, and the agency states that Americans eat about 3,400 mg per day on average. FDA classifies 20% DV or more of a nutrient per serving as high. Caulipower's 26% DV and Milton's 38% DV both meet that threshold, so both half pizzas are high in sodium on their panels.

For another sodium comparison, see Which Has More Sodium, Pace or Herdez Salsa? It Depends.

How much protein does each half pizza provide?

One half of Milton's Four Cheese lists 20 g protein per half pizza, while one half of Caulipower Margherita lists 13 g, which is 25% DV. The Milton's panel does not show a Daily Value for protein.

Milton's ingredient list includes mozzarella in the crust, plus part-skim mozzarella, provolone, and a pecorino and Parmesan blend in the toppings. Caulipower's list includes part-skim mozzarella and Parmesan. The labels do not state how much each cheese contributes, so the protein gap is not traced to one ingredient.

How much saturated fat is in each half pizza?

One half of Caulipower Margherita lists 5 g saturated fat, which is 25% DV, while one half of Milton's Four Cheese lists 9 g, which is 45% DV. Both labels list 15 g total fat, 0 g trans fat, and 45 mg cholesterol per half pizza.

Under FDA's Daily Value guidance, 20% DV or more per serving is high, so both products are high in saturated fat on their panels. Milton's list includes provolone and sheep's milk pecorino Romano in addition to mozzarella, but the labels do not link the difference to any specific cheese.

How do the calories, carbs, and fiber compare per half pizza?

Per half pizza, Caulipower Margherita lists 370 calories, 47 g total carbohydrate (17% DV), and 3 g fiber (11% DV). Milton's Four Cheese lists 360 calories, 33 g total carbohydrate (12% DV), and 2 g fiber (7% DV). The half-pizza weights are 168 g for Caulipower and 156 g for Milton's, so the serving sizes are not identical.

Other panel details, per half pizza:

  • Total sugars: 4 g for both, with 1 g added sugars (2% DV) for both.
  • Calcium: 289 mg (20% DV) for Caulipower versus 623 mg (50% DV) for Milton's.
  • Potassium: 391 mg (8% DV) for Caulipower versus 252 mg (6% DV) for Milton's.
  • Vitamin D: 0.3 mcg (2% DV) for Caulipower versus 0 mcg for Milton's.
  • Iron: 1.3 mg (8% DV) for Caulipower versus 1 mg (6% DV) for Milton's.

Net carbs and glycemic impact are not disclosed on either panel, so this article does not calculate them. For a wheat-crust frozen pizza comparison, see DiGiorno vs Red Baron Stuffed Crust: Which Has BHA? Just 1.

Which ingredients appear in each crust, and what do the allergen claims say?

Both labels say the product contains egg and milk. Caulipower's allergen line reads Contains: Egg, Milk. Milton's reads Contains: Milk & Egg. Neither crust ingredient list includes wheat.

Caulipower's brand page makes these claims: gluten-free, Wheat-Free, Vegetarian, and No Preservatives. The page also says the product is 'free from artifical colors, flavors, and perservatives' [sic]. This article reports those claims as the brand's own wording and does not test them against the ingredient list.

Milton's FAQ states that all of its products are Certified Gluten Free. Its listed price on the product page is $9.99. No price for Caulipower appears in the pages referenced here.

Some ingredients on each list are worth knowing by name. Caulipower's crust includes baking powder made with sodium acid pyrophosphate and sodium bicarbonate, and xanthan gum. Milton's crust includes citric acid, lactic acid, and xanthan gum in its under-2% group. Milton's crust has no added oil listed, while Caulipower's lists vegetable oil.

Who should pay closest attention to sodium and saturated fat in these pizzas?

People who track sodium or saturated fat may find the per-half-pizza figures most relevant, since both products are high by FDA's Daily Value thresholds on their panels. The difference matters more when a full container is eaten, because the label figures for a full container are double the half-pizza amounts.

For sodium, the gap between a 590 mg and an 870 mg half pizza is 280 mg on the label. For saturated fat, the gap is 4 g per half pizza. Anyone managing a health condition that involves sodium or saturated fat intake should follow guidance from a licensed clinician, and this article does not provide that guidance.

People who avoid gluten should read the brand claims closely. Caulipower's page says gluten-free, and Milton's FAQ says its products are Certified Gluten Free.

Is Caulipower or Milton's healthier?

The label facts do not settle that question, because each product leads on different nutrients. Caulipower lists less sodium, less saturated fat, more carbohydrate, more fiber, and more potassium per half pizza. Milton's lists more protein and more calcium, and no vitamin D, per half pizza.

How can you compare cauliflower pizza labels on your own?

Start with the serving size, then compare the same nutrient per half pizza or per container. Check the ingredient order, the allergen line, and any front-of-package claims against the full ingredient list.

  • Confirm whether the panel is per half pizza or per full container.
  • Compare sodium, saturated fat, and protein using the same serving size.
  • Note the % DV, and use FDA's 20% or more for high and 5% or less for low as a reference point.
  • Look at whether cauliflower is listed first, and what the crust contains after it.
  • Compare the number to other listings, since panels can differ.

These labels describe two products as printed in the cited listings. Retailer panels differ, recipes can change, and a label cannot show how any individual responds to sodium, saturated fat, or protein. The labels cannot establish how much rice flour either crust contains or how cauliflower crust compares with wheat crust for health outcomes, so this article does not address those questions.

To read the label on the box in your freezer, scan its barcode with the Aurascan app and see what each ingredient is.

Try Aurascan

See what is really in the food you buy.

Common questions

Is Caulipower or Milton's healthier?
The label facts do not settle that question, because each product leads on different nutrients. Per half pizza, Caulipower lists less sodium (590 mg vs 870 mg) and less saturated fat (5 g vs 9 g), while Milton's lists more protein (20 g vs 13 g) and more calcium (623 mg vs 289 mg).
Is cauliflower crust pizza actually made of cauliflower?
Yes, cauliflower is the first crust ingredient in both Caulipower Margherita and Milton's Four Cheese. Neither label states what percentage of the crust is cauliflower, and the rest of each crust contains rice flours, starches, and (for Milton's) mozzarella cheese.
How much sodium is in Milton's cauliflower pizza?
One half pizza of Milton's Margherita Four Cheese lists 870 mg sodium, or 38% of the Daily Value. The full two-serving container lists 1740 mg (76% DV).
Is cauliflower crust pizza healthier than regular pizza?
The labels in this comparison do not compare cauliflower crust pizza with a wheat-crust pizza, so this article cannot answer that question. Both products are high in sodium and saturated fat by FDA's Daily Value thresholds on their panels.
Does Caulipower crust have rice flour?
Yes, Caulipower's crust lists brown rice flour and white rice flour after cauliflower. The label does not disclose the share of either rice flour in the crust.
How much protein is in Caulipower Margherita per half pizza?
One half pizza of Caulipower Margherita lists 13 g protein, which is 25% of the Daily Value.
Does Milton's cauliflower crust contain cheese?
Yes, Milton's crust lists low moisture mozzarella cheese second, right after cauliflower. Caulipower's crust lists no cheese; its mozzarella and Parmesan are in the toppings.

Sources

  1. Sodium in Your Diet (fda.gov)
  2. Lows and Highs of the Percent Daily Value on the Nutrition Facts Label (fda.gov)
  3. Margherita Cauliflower Crust Pizza (eatcaulipower.com)
  4. Margherita Four Cheese Cauliflower Crust Pizza (eatmiltons.com)

In this series

Related guides

Try it on your own groceries

Scan your next label with Aurascan

Point the camera at any ingredient list and get the same evidence-graded read you see here.

Open the scanner

Get food recall alerts + a weekly digest

An email when a food recall is announced, plus one weekly roundup of label news and new guides.

We email a confirmation link first - nothing is sent until you click it. Unsubscribe anytime. Privacy