Latest News · October 24, 2026 · 8 min read
Kayem, Al Fresco & McKenzie Recall: 1.58M lb Hot Dogs, Bacon
Kayem Foods recalled about 1,584,361 lb of ready-to-eat hot dogs, bacon, chicken sausage, ham and turkey after a warehouse cooler problem. Check UPCs here.
By Chris Carrillo · Reviewed by Armin Rad, Co-Founder & CTO, Aurascan · October 25, 2026
Every article is checked against primary sources before publication. How we review

TL;DR: On October 17, 2026, the USDA Food Safety and Inspection Service (FSIS) announced that Kayem Foods Inc. of Chelsea, Mass. is recalling about 1,584,361 pounds of ready-to-eat meat and poultry products that may have experienced temperature abuse during storage. FSIS classifies the recall as High, Class I (recall 026-2026) and reports no confirmed illnesses. The recall covers 68 SKUs across nine brands, including Kayem, Al Fresco and McKenzie. FSIS urges consumers not to eat the products and to throw them away or return them to the place of purchase. FSIS says retail distribution lists will be posted when available.
Key takeaways
- On October 17, 2026, FSIS announced the recall of about 1,584,361 lb of ready-to-eat products from Kayem Foods Inc., Chelsea, Mass.
- The problem surfaced after a retail customer complaint about warm product at delivery on October 1, 2026. Kayem's October 16, 2026 release attributes it to a cooling system malfunction at one of its warehouses.
- The affected list has 68 SKUs across nine brands. Check the brand and item description, UPC, best-before range and lot code where printed, plus establishment numbers EST. M/P 7839, EST. P 20935A and EST. M 9520.
- FSIS reports no confirmed illnesses. FSIS urges consumers not to eat the products.
- Kayem customer service: 800-426-6100 (Monday to Friday, 7:30 a.m. to 4 p.m. Eastern).
What happened
FSIS announced the recall on October 17, 2026. According to the agency, the problem was discovered after the firm received a retail customer complaint about warm product temperatures at the point of delivery on October 1, 2026. The establishment determined that it had stored various ready-to-eat products in a warehouse cooler that experienced temperature deviations.
Kayem's own release, dated October 16, 2026, describes the action as a voluntary recall of 'fully cooked meat and poultry products' that were 'stored and shipped between June 7, 2026, and October 14, 2026.' The company attributes the event to 'a cooling system malfunction at one of the company's warehouses that resulted in storage temperature deviations.'
The two sources give different date windows. FSIS says the items were produced approximately March 31, 2026 to October 7, 2026. Those are production dates, not storage dates. Kayem's release describes storage and shipping between June 7 and October 14, 2026. The notices do not explain why the two windows differ, and the sources do not supply a reason.
What changed
The change is the recall itself. FSIS lists it as recall 026-2026, classified High, Class I, with distribution listed as nationwide. The reason field reads 'Processing Defect.' That is FSIS's reason label for the recall record. It is distinct from the cause described in the notices, which is temperature abuse during storage linked to a warehouse cooler, so the two should not be read as the same thing.
According to FSIS, the products were shipped to retail and foodservice locations nationwide and to Hong Kong. The names of retailers, any Hong Kong importer or retailer, and the number of packages were not disclosed.
Who is affected
Kayem's affected-SKU list, which is the source for the nine-brand breakdown below, has 68 rows across nine brands: Kayem (23), Al Fresco (18), McKenzie (17), Triple M (3), Deutschmacher (2), Jordan's (2), Genoa (1), Essem (1) and Winnisimmet (1). Each row lists a UPC and a best-before date range.
FSIS says the products bear the establishment numbers 'EST. M/P 7839,' 'EST. P 20935A' and 'EST. M 9520' inside the USDA mark of inspection.
What is the Kayem Fenway Franks recall covering in 2026?
The Kayem Fenway Franks 14 oz, UPC 003077101114, is on the affected list with a best-before range of 10/22/2026 to 10/29/2026. The FSIS product list adds lot numbers 26-210 (marked exp. 2026-10-22) and 26-217 (marked exp. 2026-10-29).
What Al Fresco chicken sausage products are in the recall?
Eighteen Al Fresco SKUs are on the list. Examples include Al Fresco Sweet Apple Fully Cooked Chicken Sausage 11 oz (UPC 003077102637, best-before 07/22/2026 to 12/25/2026), Al Fresco Spinach & Feta Fully Cooked Chicken Sausage 11 oz (UPC 003077102631, 08/13/2026 to 12/13/2026) and Al Fresco Apple Maple Breakfast Fully Cooked Chicken Sausage Links 7.5 oz (UPC 003077102667, 08/04/2026 to 12/22/2026).
Which McKenzie bacon products are included?
Seventeen McKenzie SKUs are on the list. One listed example is McKenzie Cob Smoked Uncured Bacon 12 oz, UPC 003077109544, with a best-before range of 08/02/2026 to 11/25/2026. Check the full list rather than relying on the brand name, because the affected rows are defined by UPC and date range.
Where can I find the full Kayem recall list by UPC?
The complete Kayem affected-SKU list is a 68-row PDF. Other examples include Kayem Beef & Pork Hot Dogs 14 oz (UPC 003077101111, 08/23/2026 to 10/27/2026) and Kayem Small Batch Slow Smoked Applewood Thick Cut Bacon 12 oz (UPC 003077101402, 06/29/2026 to 12/21/2026). Essem Frankfurters 5 lb (UPC 003077109816, 10/22/2026 to 10/29/2026) and Triple M Fully Cooked Ham Steak Water Added (UPC 003077102981, 10/25/2026) are also listed. FSIS's product list pairs lot numbers and manufacturing dates with each SKU.
What it means for shoppers
A practical check compares the package against the published list. Look at these details:
- The brand and item description, matched against the Kayem SKU list.
- The UPC, matched exactly to a listed row rather than to the brand name alone.
- The lot code and best-before date, compared with the FSIS product list where a lot is printed.
- The establishment number 'EST. M/P 7839,' 'EST. P 20935A' or 'EST. M 9520' inside the USDA mark of inspection.
The FSIS product list pairs lot numbers and manufacturing dates with each SKU, so the lot code is the most specific check when one is printed on the package. Home storage is a separate question. FDA advises keeping the refrigerator at or below 40 F (4 C), as described in its consumer guidance on storing food safely. That is a reference point for storage at home and does not change what the recall says about these products.
Is it safe to eat recalled Kayem hot dogs if they are cooked?
No. FSIS does not say that cooking makes these products safe, and it urges consumers not to eat them. The agency instructs that the products be thrown away or returned to the place of purchase. Kayem's recall release advises disposal. The sources do not give a separate instruction for cooked product.
Is there a refund for the Kayem recall?
Refund terms were not disclosed beyond the instruction to return products to the place of purchase. Kayem's customer service line is 800-426-6100, Monday to Friday, 7:30 a.m. to 4 p.m. Eastern.
What does temperature abuse mean in a meat recall?
FSIS uses the phrase to describe products that may have been held outside intended temperature conditions during storage. In this recall, the agency did not disclose what temperatures the products reached or for how long. FSIS's Danger Zone guidance describes the 40°F to 140°F range, in which bacteria can grow rapidly, which is why storage temperature matters in a recall like this one.
The background
Kayem Foods is based in Chelsea, Mass. FSIS describes the products as ready-to-eat, and Kayem describes them as fully cooked meat and poultry products. The recall covers a wide range of packaged items, from hot dogs and sausages to bacon, ham and turkey.
The sequence of events runs from a retail complaint on October 1, 2026, to Kayem's release on October 16, 2026, and then to the FSIS announcement on October 17, 2026. The company's release came one day before the federal notice.
For other recent recalls in the food-safety category, see Starfish Smoked Salmon Listeria Recall: Check Lot D080-148 and Salata Jalapeno Avocado Dressing Salmonella Recall Now Class I. Those notices involve different hazards, so the Kayem recall should be read on its own terms.
The evidence has clear limits. The public notices do not establish whether any individual package was affected, how warm the products became, how long they were held, or whether any product was tested for Listeria or other pathogens. FSIS cites temperature abuse as the basis for the recall, and it reports no confirmed illnesses, but these facts cannot show how any single household's product was affected.
What to watch next
FSIS has said that retail distribution lists will be posted at www.fsis.usda.gov/recalls when available. Those lists would show where the products were sold, which the current notices do not name.
Shoppers should also watch the best-before dates on the affected list. The Triple M ham steak is listed with a single date of 10/25/2026, while several Al Fresco rows run into December 2026 and the McKenzie bacon example runs to 11/25/2026.
Open questions include the temperatures reached, the duration of the deviations, and whether any pathogen testing was done. None of these were disclosed in the notices. Updates from FSIS would appear on its recall page, and Kayem's customer service contact details appear in its release.
Aurascan is a food-label scanner app for iPhone with a free tier. It explains each ingredient one by one with cited evidence instead of a single black-box score, pulls product data from Open Food Facts, USDA and barcode databases, and rates each ingredient as Clean, Mixed or Flagged. To see how it works on a package in your own kitchen, scan your next label with Aurascan.
Related reading: Are Trader Joe's Chicken Wraps Recalled? Pulled After E. coli Link.
Try Aurascan
See what is really in the food you buy.
Common questions
- What did FSIS announce about Kayem Foods on October 17, 2026?
- FSIS announced that Kayem Foods Inc. of Chelsea, Mass. is recalling about 1,584,361 pounds of ready-to-eat meat and poultry products that may have experienced temperature abuse during storage. FSIS classifies it as High, Class I, recall 026-2026.
- How many Kayem recall SKUs are there and which brands are included?
- The affected-SKU list has 68 rows across nine brands: Kayem (23), Al Fresco (18), McKenzie (17), Triple M (3), Deutschmacher (2), Jordan's (2), Genoa (1), Essem (1) and Winnisimmet (1). Each row lists a UPC and a best-before date range.
- Has anyone become ill from the Kayem recalled products?
- FSIS reports no confirmed illnesses. The notice does not establish how any individual package was handled.
- What should I do if I have a recalled Kayem product?
- FSIS urges consumers not to eat the products and to throw them away or return them to the place of purchase. Kayem's release also advises disposal and lists customer service at 800-426-6100, Monday to Friday, 7:30 a.m. to 4 p.m. Eastern.
- What caused the Kayem Foods recall?
- FSIS says the problem was discovered after a retail customer complaint about warm product at delivery on October 1, 2026, and that the company stored various ready-to-eat products in a warehouse cooler that experienced temperature deviations. Kayem's October 16, 2026 release attributes it to a cooling system malfunction at one of its warehouses.
- Where can I check the full list of recalled Kayem products by UPC?
- Kayem publishes the affected-SKU list as a 68-row PDF with UPCs and best-before date ranges. FSIS also publishes a product list with lot numbers and manufacturing dates, and FSIS says retail distribution lists will be posted at www.fsis.usda.gov/recalls when available.
- Does cooking make recalled hot dogs safe to eat?
- No. FSIS does not say that cooking makes these products safe, and it urges consumers not to eat them. The sources do not give a separate instruction for cooked product.
Sources
- Kayem Foods Inc. Recalls Meat and Poultry Products Due to Possible Temperature Abuse (fsis.usda.gov)
- Recall 026-2026 Product List (fsis.usda.gov)
- Kayem Foods Voluntary Product Recall, October 2026 (kayemfoods.com)
- Affected SKU List for Web (kayemfoods.com)
- Are You Storing Food Safely? (fda.gov)
- Danger Zone (40°F - 140°F) (fsis.usda.gov)
In this series
Guide
Natural Grocers Recalls Organic Mung Beans Over Glass: UPC, DatesGuide
FDA Final NDI Guidance: Why 25 Years of Safe Use MattersGuide
FDA Warns Amanita Muscaria Brand: Calm, Calmer and Santa AdulteratedGuide
FDA Warns RDM Express Over Sour Cabbage Listeria ControlsGuide
FDA Warns Ocean Pride Seafood Over Raw Tuna, Smoked SalmonGuide
Starfish Smoked Salmon Listeria Recall: Check Lot D080-148
Related guides
Latest News
Great Value Fruit Cocktail Recall: Lead in Walmart CansPacific Coast Producers recalled 1,836 cases of 15 oz Great Value Fruit Cocktail (lot 6FCB 04 C2263) for possible elevated lead. FDA rated it Class II.
Latest News
FDA Lemon Juice Testing: 7 of 195 Samples Failed, All ImportedFDA found 7 of 195 lemon juice samples adulterated, all imports, none domestic. What the 100% lemon juice standard allows and what a bottle label shows.
Comparisons
Mission Carb Balance vs Olé Tortillas: 17 g vs 12 g FiberMission Carb Balance vs Olé Xtreme Wellness: 17 g vs 12 g fiber per tortilla, steviol glycosides vs allulose, and the sulfite in Olé's list.
Try it on your own groceries
Scan your next label with Aurascan
Point the camera at any ingredient list and get the same evidence-graded read you see here.
Open the scannerGet food recall alerts + a weekly digest
An email when a food recall is announced, plus one weekly roundup of label news and new guides.
We email a confirmation link first - nothing is sent until you click it. Unsubscribe anytime. Privacy